Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications

Letterwinners for the Wauneta-Palisade track team are (sitting) Alejandra Almanza, (first row, left to right) Willis Christner, Lake Reikofski, Reagan Skow, Dennis Cavanaugh, Greg Gaston, Faith Simpson, (second row, left to right) Joel Maris, Duncan Rector, Brody Nordhausen, (standing, left to right) Dalton Harchelroad and Cash Yearous. Not pictured are Evan Nordhausen, Dakota Ingold and Haylee Dike.

Track letterwinners to pull their weight in 2017

Twenty-four athletes have reported for this season’s Wauneta-Palisade track squad.

Shelby Cox | Johnson Publications

Willis Christner displays the t-shirt he is selling as a fundraiser for his trip to Australia to attend the Down Under Central Conference Track and Field in July.

WP junior has a chance to go “down under” for track competition this summer

Willis Christner, a junior at Wauneta-Palisade High School, has been chosen to compete in the Down Under Central Conference Track and Field competition on the Gold Coast of Australia starting July

Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications

Coach Dave Kuhlen and the bench cheer on the Broncos.

Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications

Greg Gaston scored on three second half lay ups.

Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications

Dennis Cavanaugh provided a spark to the Bronco offense.

Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications

Brody Nordhausen splits Mead defenders in the paint

Mead takes air out of Broncos at state tournament

Prior to the start of Thursday’s state tournament game against Mead, Wauneta-Palisade assistant boys’ coach Rod Gaston said the game would be decided by who could control the tempo.

Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications

Dalton Harchelroad looks to make a pass into the post during Wauneta-Palisade’s overtime win in the district final.

Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications

Cash Yearous drives to the hoop during the second half of the Broncos 53-50 win over Wilcox-Hildreth.

Overtime win sends Broncos back to the state tournament

Wauneta-Palisade fans were on the edge of their seats Tuesday, Feb. 28 in Bartley during the District D4 basketball game.


Wauneta Breeze

308-394-5389 (Phone)

308-394-5931 (Fax)

324 N. Tecumseh

PO Box 337

Wauneta NE 69045