Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Palisade’s Sodtown Sundries open for business PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 31 December 2015 00:00

Celia Rose employee at Sodtown Sundries, works closely with part-owner Stephanie Malcolm, right, in Palisade’s newest business which opened its doors on Christmas Eve. (Pat Holder | Johnson Publications)

 

By Pat Holder

The Wauneta Breeze


With the smell of fresh paint still lingering in the newly renovated store, Sodtown Sundries opened its doors in Palisade on Christmas Eve.

This old-fashioned style general store offers a complete array of merchandise including grocery items with fresh, frozen and dry goods; convenience items; gift choices; beer, liquor and tobacco; and even has fountain soda pop.

Shoppers are met with homey-style decor including a vintage cook stove with merchandise arranged atop. Quilts and a framed county map adorn the walls. Old-look ceiling fans, all new, also add to the ambiance of the store.

At the back of the store are tables set with the usual items but also with something not so usual—each has its own deck of cards meant to encourage customers to make themselves at home and stay a while.

Brock and Stephanie Malcolm, proprietors of Sodtown Sundries, are originally from McCook and fell in love with the town of Palisade during a visit.

They moved to other locations including Wyoming and Kansas City, Mo., but when they realized they were homesick, they made the move back to Nebraska and chose Palisade as their hometown.

S. Malcolm said she loves the small town feeling of caring and charm in Palisade.

When she and Brock approached Allen Baxter, former owner of the grocery store, to buy, he told them he wouldn’t have sold to anyone else. S. Malcolm also said “Baxter, a pillar of the community, has faith in us.”

A motivating factor in the Malcolm’s decision to take on such an endeavor was to keep Palisade on its current growth pattern because more young families will be drawn to a town with a grocery store than one without.

According to S. Malcolm, plans for the business in the new year include services and features such as in-town delivery, Sunday afternoon card-game tournaments, chess sets for kids to play, displays of local artists’ work and a bistro slated for next summer.

The Malcolm’s are decidedly dedicated to and enthusiastic about the new business.

S. Malcolm excitedly said, “The community has been supportive, wonderful, patient and loving.”

Sodtown Sundries is open Monday through Thursday 6 a.m. MT/7 a.m. CT to 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT, Friday 6 a.m. MT/7 p.m. CT, to 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT, Saturday 11 a.m. MT/12 p.m. CT to 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT and Sunday 11 a.m. MT/12 p.m. CT to 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT. The store may be reached at (308)285-3220.