Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Things gear up for busy alumni weekend in Wauneta PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 22 May 2014 00:00

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

 

The annual Wauneta/Wauneta-Palisade High School Alumni Banquet is set for this Saturday, May 24. Many alumni who now live out of the area will be back in town to visit with their classmates. This year’s honor classes are all of those who graduated in a year that end with a “4.” The WP class of 2014 will be the newest alumni class honored.

The welcome will be delivered by Shane Anderson, who is a member of the class of 1999. Mandy (Howard) Buderus, also from the class of 1999, will serve as the master of ceremonies.

The response will be delivered by 2014 graduate Brooklyn Nordhausen on behalf of her class. Aaron Keiser from the class of 2004 will deliver the invocation. The evening’s entertainment will be provided by Aaron and Sara Behrends.

The banquet menu will include garlic and herb roasted chicken, glazed carrots, baked potato, tossed salad, croissants and cheesecake. Imperial Super Foods will cater the banquet. Banquet tickets are still available at Walgren’s Super Market and will also be available at the door Saturday night.

 

Many activities planned Saturday

Alums will have no shortage of things to do when in town on Saturday. Alumni events will kick off that morning with a complementary Welcome Home Luncheon hosted by the Wauneta Chamber at the American Legion Hall from 11 a.m. MT/12 p.m. CT to 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT.

Next up, tours of the Chateau Theatre between 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT and 2 p.m. MT/3 p.m. CT will offer alums the chance to walk down memory lane and learn about recent updates to the theatre.

The flurry of evening activities will begin at the Wauneta-Palisade High School at 4:30 p.m. with school tours, giving alums the chance to see changes and upgrades since the days they graced the halls.

Class pictures will be taken at 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT in the gymnasium and the banquet will begin at 6:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p.m. CT, also in the gymnasium.

A D.J. dance will be held at the Wauneta American Legion Hall from 8:30 p.m MT/ 9:30 p.m. CT until 12:00 a.m. MT/1:00 p.m. CT. The dance is also open to the public.

Questions should be directed to Shane Anderson at (308) 414-0018.