Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Candidates file in final days for Imperial city council, school board PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Wednesday, 05 March 2014 17:55

By Jan Schultz

The Imperial Republican


Four more candidates filed for local races the past week as the final filing deadline for the 2014 election arrived.

All filed on Monday, the final day filings could be accepted.

Charlesa Kline and Spencer Rowley filed for the Imperial city council, while Russ DaMoude and Steve Wallin, both of Imperial, filed for the Chase County Schools Board of Education.

The late filings will create races for the council and school board, but all candidates will advance to the General Election since they are non-partisan and there are not enough total filings for each race to require a run-off.

Ray Wolgamott is also challenging incumbent Imperial Mayor Dwight Coleman. As with the council and school board, they will automatically advance to the General Election vote.

County Clerk Debbie Clark said the only local race that voters will see on the May 13 Primary ballot will be for Chase Co. Commissioner 2. That is a partisan race, and two Republicans have filed—incumbent Jodi Thompson of Imperial and Dave Hogsett of Champion. No Democrats have filed. The commissioner candidate winning the Primary will advance to the General Election.

Only those registered Republican will vote in that Primary race, Clark said.

All other county office incumbents are the only ones seeking the seats they now hold.

County Clerk Clark stayed open an hour later Monday to take late filings until 5 p.m.


Third filing for state senator

Steve Stroup of Benkelman, who announced late last year he would run, formally filed for Dist. 44 state senator to replace Mark Christensen of Imperial.

He joins Dan Hughes of Venango and Dennis Barry of McCook in that race.

Two will advance from the Primary to the General Election. Christensen is completing his second term as state senator, and cannot run again due to term limits.

There were no new filings last week for the Upper Republican NRD board, which has five seats up for election this year. All five incumbents have filed for re-election.


Other state races

With three incumbent state officials not seeking re-election to the offices they now hold, there has been a lot of activity at the state level.

Gov. Dave Heineman is not running due to term limits and the opening has drawn eight candidates to replace him in the state’s top position.

Republicans seeking the Governor’s seat are Jon Bruning (current Attorney General), Tom Carlson of Holdrege, Mike Foley (current State Auditor), Beau McCoy of Omaha, Pete Ricketts of Omaha and Bryan Slone of Omaha. Democrat Chuck Hassebrook of Lyons also filed as did Libertarian Mark Elworth Jr. of Omaha.

In addition, U.S. Sen. Mike Johanns is bowing out of his position after 2014 and seven are seeking to be his replacement. Five are Republicans and two are Democrats.

Republican candidates are Sid Dinsdale of Elkhorn, Clifton Johnson of Fort Calhoun, Shane Osborn of Waterloo, Bart McLeay of Omaha and Ben Sasse of Fremont.

Dave Domina of Omaha and Larry Marvin of Fremont are on the Democratic ticket.

Two are challenging incumbent Rep. Adrian Smith for his Third District congressional seat, Republican Tom Brewer of Gordon and Democrat Mark Sullivan of Doniphan.

All other state office holders will be up for re-election, and all have challengers.

Candidates seeking election to the Lamar and Wauneta village boards, Imperial Public Power District and SW Public Power District Board have July 15 filing deadlines.