Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

County officials all file for re-election by Feb. 18 deadline PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Wednesday, 19 February 2014 23:37

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze


All Chase County officials filed for re-election by the Feb. 18 incumbent filing deadline. New filers, those who do not currently hold an elected office, still have some time to file–until March 3.

Nearly all county seats are up for election this year, all except for the County Commissioner District 1 seat held by Chuck Vette of Wauneta.

County offices up for election include those of Assessor Dorothy Bartels, Attorney Arlan Wine, Clerk Debra Clark, Treasurer Cynthia Schoenberger, Sheriff Kevin Mueller, District No. 2 Commissioner Jodi Thompson and District No. 3 Commissioner Don Weiss, Jr.

As of Tuesday afternoon, all of the incumbents for county offices have filed for re-election. Dave Hogsett of Champion, a new filer for the District No. 2 Commissioner seat, has also filed for the office. The District No. 2 Commissioner seat will be a primary race as both Hogsett and Thompson filed on the republican ticket.



There are three Upper Republican NRD seats up for election this year in Chase County. They include Subdistrict No. 4 held by Jason Kunkel of Lamar, Subdistrict No. 6 held by Dean Large of Wauneta and the member-at-large position currently held by Jeff Wallin of Imperial.

Kunkel, Large and Wallin all filed before the Feb. 18 deadline.

In Dundy County, Terry Martin’s Subdistrict No. 2 seat is up for election, along with two others from Perkins County, now held by Loren Jessen of Grant (Subdistrict No. 8) and Brett Bullock of Madrid (Subdistrict No. 10). As of Tuesday afternoon, Martin and Bullock have filed for re-election.



Three seats on the Wauneta-Palisade Public Schools Board are up for election in 2014. All three incumbents, Bill Bischoff, Laurie Maris and Allison Sandman, have filed for re-election. There have been no other filings for those seats.

Chase County Schools board of education members whose terms run out this year include Penny Strand, Jeff Olsen, Dirk Haarberg and Dan Reeves. As of Tuesday, Dirk Haarberg is the only incumbent who has not re-filed for Chase County Schools board of education seats. There have been no other filings for that board.

Educational Service Unit (ESU) No. 15 has two seats up for election. Allison Sandman of Wauneta has filed for the District 3 seat. As of Tuesday Cheri Burke of Imperial had not filed for re-election of her District 1 seat. However, incumbents who plan to file for openings with ESUs have a later deadline of July 15 to file.

The State Board of Education District No. 7 seat is also up for election in 2014. The seat is currently held by Molly O’Holleran of North Platte. As of Tuesday afternoon, Robin R. Stevens of Gothenburg is the only other filer for the seat.

Mid-Plains Community College’s District No. 2 seat currently held by Garry Lawyer of Grant, who has filed for re-election, is up for election this year as well.


Imperial positions

Three Imperial incumbents did not file for re-election at the Chase County Clerk’s office by the Feb. 18 deadline.

John Arterburn currently holds a seat on the Imperial City Council, Taylor May who sits on the Imperial Airport Authority and Haarberg who serves on the Chase County Schools board did not file for re-election by the deadline.


November ballot

There have been two filings for positions with the July 15 deadline. Those up for re-election include the Wauneta Village Board, SWPPD, Imperial Public Power District and the Lamar Village Board.

Beau Kramer of Wauneta has filed for re-election to the Wauneta Village Board. There are a total of three seats on the Wauneta Village to be voted on in 2014–those currently held by Tony Cribelli, Kramer and Page Johnston.

The Southwest Public Power District (SWPPD) Sub District No. 1 seat currently held by Brent Evans of Haigler is up for election in November. The seat covers parts of Dundy, Chase and Hitchcock Counties. As of Tuesday, Mike Lutz of Benkelman is the only filer for the position.

Eric McDaniel was appointed to the Imperial Public Power District in Feb. 2009 to fill a vacancy. His seat will be up for election in 2014.

There are also three seats up for election on the Lamar Village Board, currently held by Kurt Schueller (appointed), Francis Baker and Pat Null.

Due to press deadlines final incumbent filings at the state level will be reviewed in next week’s issue.