Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

2014 election filing deadlines approaching for incumbents PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 23 January 2014 15:54

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze


The filing deadline for incumbent elected office holders to file is just over three weeks away. So far filings have been slow at the Chase County Clerk’s office.

As of Tuesday afternoon three incumbents have filed and no new filers have registered their intent to run for an elected office.

For most offices incumbents, anyone currently serving in any elective office, have a filing deadline of Feb. 18, 2014–even if they choose to run for a different office. New filers have an additional two weeks to file, until March 3, 2014.

Voters will go to the polls May 13 for the primary election and again on Nov. 4 for the general election.

Nearly all the county seats are up for election, all except for the County Commissioner District 1 seat held by Chuck Vette of Wauneta.

County offices up for election include those of Assessor Dorothy Bartels, Attorney Arlan Wine, Clerk Debra Clark, Treasurer Cynthia Schroenberger, Sheriff Kevin Mueller, District No. 2 Commissioner Jodi Thompson and District No. 3 Commissioner Don Weiss, Jr.

So far, the only two incumbents who have filed for re-election are Done Weiss, Jr. and Debrak Clark.

There are three Upper Republican NRD seats up for election this year in Chase County. They include Subdistrict No. 4 held by Jason Kunkel of Lamar, Subdistrict No. 6 held by Dean Large of Wauneta and the member at large position currently held by Jeff Wallin of Imperial.

In Dundy County, Terry Martin’s Subdistrict No. 2 seat is up for election, along with two others from Perkins County, now held by Loren Jessen of Grant (Subdistrict No. 8) and Brett Bullock of Madrid (Subdistrict No. 10).

As of Jan. 16 the only incumbents who have filed for Upper Republican NRD seats are Martin in Subdistrict 2 and Large in Subdistrict 6.


Local government and public power districts

Three seats on the Wauneta Village board will be voted on in 2014. The seats to be filled are currently held by Tony Cribelli and Beau Kramer. The third seat is held by Page Johnston who was appointed to the board to fill Ted Grimm’s position when Grimm passed away.

In Imperial the mayor seat held by Dwight Coleman and city council seats held by Chad Yaw and John Arterburn are up for election. There are also two seats up for re-election on the Imperial Airport

Authority, currently held by Jim Haarberg and Taylor May, who was appointed when Blake Moreland resigned.

Eric McDaniel was appointed to the Imperial Public Power District in Feb. 2009 to fill a vacancy. His seat will be up for election in 2014.

The Southwest Public Power District (SWPPD) Sub District No. 1 seat currently held by Brent Evans of Haigler is up for election. The seat covers parts of Dundy, Chase and Hitchcock Counties.

There are also three seats up for election on the Lamar Village Board, currently held by Kurt Schueller (appointed), Francis Baker and Pat Null.

There have been no incumbent or new filings for any of the village or county seats as of Tuesday. Incumbents filing for the Imperial positions must meet the Feb. 18 filing deadline whereas incumbents filing for Wauneta Village Board, Lamar Village Board, Imperial Public Power District and SWPPD have a later filing deadline of July 15.



Three seats on the Wauneta-Palisade Public Schools Board are up for election in 2014. One incumbent, Allison Sandman, has already filed for re-election. The two other incumbents, Bill Bischoff and Laurie Maris, had not filed as of Tuesday and there are no other filings for those seats.

Chase County Schools board of education members whose terms run out this year include Penny Strand, Jeff Olsen, Dirk Haarberg and Dan Reeves. No incumbents have filed for re-election and there are no other filings for that board.

Educational Service Unit (ESU) No. 15 has two seats up for election. Allison Sandman of Wauneta has filed for the District 3 seat. As of Tuesday Cheri Burke of Imperial had not filed for re-election of her District 1 seat.

The State Board of Education District No. 7 seat is also up for election in 2014. The seat is currently held by Molly O’Holleran of North Platte.

Mid-Plains Community College’s District No. 2 seat currently held by Garry Lawyer of Grant is up for election this year as well.

Incumbents filing for the Chase County Schools, Wauneta-Palisade Schools, State Board of Education and Mid-Plains openings must file by the Feb. 18 deadline. However, incumbents who plan to file for the ESU openings have a later deadline of July 15 to file.


State and Federal

Mark Christensen of Imperial currently serves in the Nebraska Legislature for District 44 that serves southwest Nebraska. Christensen has served two terms and therefore cannot run again. As of Jan. 16 Dan Hughes of Venango is the only person who has filed with the state for that position.

The U.S. Senator seat currently held by Mike Johanns (Rep.) is up for election in 2014. Larry Marvin of Fremont has filed on the democratic ticket and Clifton R. Johnson of Fort Calhoun has filed on the Republican ticket.

The U.S. House of Representatives in Congress District 3 seat held by Adrian Smith of Gering is also up for election this year. Mark Sullivan of Doniphan and Tom Brewer of Gordon have filed for that seat.

So far the only person who has filed for Nebraska Governor is Mark G. Elworth, Jr. of Omaha on the Libertarian ticket.

Secretary of State, John A. Gale of Lincoln, has filed for re-election. Don Stenberg of Gretna has filed his intent to run for the Nebraska State Treasurer position he currently holds. No others have filed for those positions.

Other state offices up for election in 2014 are Attorney General and Auditor of Public Accounts. No filings have been made for those positions at this time.