Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Some new, some familiar faces to be seen on Wauneta Village Board and Wauneta-Palisade Schools Board after Tuesday’s election PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 08 November 2012 17:19

By Sheri Hink

The Wauneta Breeze


Two issues were of particular interest to local voters, election for two members of the Wauneta Village Board and three open seats on the Wauneta-Palisade Public Schools Board.


Wauneta Village Board

Lloyd Sinner was re-elected to the Wauneta Village Board with 250 votes.

Rick Einspahr filed an affidavit with the Chase County Clerk as a write-in candidate for the other open seat on the Village Board.

Einspahr received 94 write-in votes and will replace Lynn Brunkhorst on the Village Board.

Brunkhorst opted not to seek re-election.


W-P Schools Board

Jason Hicks will replace Stuart Bartles on the Wauneta-Palisade Public Schools Board. Hicks filed in October as a write-in candidate for one of the three open seats. Hicks received 59 write-in votes in the general election.

John Jutten was re-elected as a write-in candidate with 64 write-in votes.

Jutten filed as a write-in candidate earlier this year after missing the deadline to appear on the ballot.

Jon Anderjaska, the only candidate listed on the ticket, was also re-elected to his position on the school board with 273 votes.


Other local races

Chuck Vette was officially re-elected to the Chase County Board of Commissioners representing District 1 after running unopposed in the general election. This spring Vette emerged as the top Republican candidate from a field of four.

There were no candidates filing on the democratic ticket.

Wayne Lutz and Steve Leibbrandt were elected to the Southwest Public Power District representing subdivision 1 with 161 and 235 votes respectively.

Kerry Bernhardt ran unopposed for the Upper Republican Natural Resources District representing subdistrict 3. Thomas Gashler ran unopposed for subdistrict 5. Tom Terryberry ran unopposed for subdistrict 7.