Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Local News Briefs PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 05 May 2011 17:16

Public promenade planned for Saturday

Community members can join in the fun of Wauneta-Palisade’s prom this Saturday with a public promenade on tap at the high school gym in Wauneta.

The promenade will begin at 7:30 p.m. MT/8:30 p.m. CT and offer family, friends and neighbors a view of the prom-goers decked out in their finest and a chance to snap photos.

Coronation of prom royalty will be held at the conclusion of the promenade.

This year’s prom theme is “A Night Under the Stars.”

The dance begins at 8:30 p.m. MT/9:30 p.m. CT.

 

Wauneta’s town-wide garage sales June 4

Organizers and garage salers alike are gearing up for Wauneta’s annual town-wide garage sales.

This year’s event is being planned for Saturday, June 4.

For more information or to get your sale included on the map contact Julie Hoskovec at 308-883-6520.

 

Mother’s Day is coming up this Sunday

Mother’s Day is coming up this Sunday and there’s still time to show mom how special she is.

Both Roonies Place and Everything You Imagine can put together a floral arrangement or Mother’s Day gift basket for you right here in Wauneta. Contact Roonies at 394-5144.

Contact Everything You Imagine at 394-5740 or at 308- 883-0841.

The Sweet Shop in Wauneta is hosting a Mother’s Day buffet on Sunday featuring fried chicken and ham.

The Chase County Museum in Champion will hold their annual quilt show during their season opener. The museum will be open from 1 to 4 p.m. MT on Sunday.

 

Goodwill donations accepted in Imperial

The Goodwill Donation Trailer will be Imperial May 12 through May 18 at the parking lot of the United Methodist Church located at 420 Holland Street.

Items may be dropped off from noon until dark on Thursday, May 12, and from 8 a.m. until dark Friday, May 13, through Wednesday, May 18.

Items needed include clothing and household items in good, saleable condition. Due to lack of space, however, no furniture or large appliances can be accepted at the trailer.

Receipts for tax deductions will be available.

 

High School speech champion to air on NET

For the first time in Nebraska, winners of the annual high school speech tournament will be broadcast when NET Television airs “NSAA Speech Championships: The Best of the Best.”

The two-hour program will will showcase 14 high school students performing their winning state championship speeches when it airs on Sunday, May 15, at 8 a.m. MT/9 a.m. CT (Channel 12 in Wauneta). The program will be repeated on NET2 on Saturday, June 4, at 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT and Saturday, June 11, at 11 a.m. MT/noon CT.

Among those winning speechsters chosen for this broadcast is Rachel Southard, daughter of Wauneta High School graduate Heidi Maxfield Southard of North Platte and grand daughter of Jim and Connie Maxfield of Wauneta.

Rachel was a member of the North Platte High School oral interpretation of drama team that won first place at state in Class A with a perfect score.

The program features nine events from the state championships considered to be the best of the best of all state champions across the various classes. The North Platte O.I.D. will be the last event of the broadcast.

 

Kindergarten Round-up coming up this Friday

Parents of children who are preparing to enter kindergarten are encouraged to come to the Wauneta Attendance Center on Friday, May 6, for Kindergarten Round-up.

Kindergarten Round-up runs from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. CT.

You can contact WP school officials at 308-394-5427 with questions.