Front left to right, Konner McCrumb, Robert Lytle, Trey McCrumb, Ryleigh McCrumb and Camron McCrumb are all smiles a they participate in the 2018 torch run.

Torch run passes through Wauneta

Several Chase County residents participated in the Torch Run this past weekend.
    The Torch Run is the precursor to the 2018 Cornhusker State Games, which takes place July 20-29 in Lincoln and surrounding communities. Competition is offered in over 60 sports for an estimated 12,000 athletes.
    The first leg of the run started June 1 and covered Hemingford to Alliance.
    Saturday’s leg in the area kicked off at Chase County High School at 7 a.m. MT/8 a.m. CT. Participants ran east along Highway 6 until they reached McCook at approximately 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT for a welcome ceremony in the Walmart parking lot.

To read the full story, subscribe to the e-edition online or call the Breeze at 308-394-5389 to subscribe to the print edition

Wauneta Breeze

308-394-5389 (Phone)

308-394-5931 (Fax)

324 N. Tecumseh

PO Box 337

Wauneta NE 69045