Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications
 

Free will supper to be held Monday as fund raiser for Community Building Improvement Project

Western States Bank will be hosting a fund raiser Monday, Jan. 15, for the Wauneta Community Building improvement project.
    Village employees will be serving sloppy joes, pulled pork sandwiches, potato salad, beans, chips and cookies at the Community Center from 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT to 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT. Western States Bank is providing the meal.
    The Wauneta-Palisade fifth and sixth graders will be providing entertainment starting at 6 p.m.MT/7 p.m. CT. There will be no school at WP that day.
    Tony Cribelli, chairman of the fundraising project, said the village needs to raise $25,000 by Feb. 1 to meet the requirements of the Community Center Grant Matching Fund through the Civic and Community Center Financing Fund.
    To help meet that goal, Brenda Anderson, Western States Bank’s Wauneta president, said three donors have been found to match Monday’s free will donations up to $2,500.
     Ideally, the project will have at least $10,000 in its coffers following the meal.
    Anderson added that Western States Bank wanted to show its support to the community.
    “Western States Bank is committed to the Wauneta community and we wanted to take the lead position on this Fund Raiser Feed to show our support,” Anderson said. “This building is vital to our community and we need it for the many events that are hosted in our town. We encourage everyone to come out and enjoy the meal and contribute for the cause.”
    A silent auction will be held Monday evening, as well.
To read the full story, subscribe to the e-edition online or call the Breeze at 308-394-5389 to subscribe to the print edition

Wauneta Breeze

308-394-5389 (Phone)

308-394-5931 (Fax)

324 N. Tecumseh

PO Box 337

Wauneta NE 69045