Celebrate what’s great about Wauneta: Harvest Fest kicks off today at the Theatre

Harvest Festival weekend is here at last. This year the Wauneta Chamber-sponsored event will focus around all the things that are great about Wauneta with the theme “Make Wauneta Great Again.”
    The four-day long celebration kicks off tonight (Thursday) with two showings, at 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT and 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT, of a locally-cast melodrama, “Showtime on the Showboat,” at the Chateau Theatre. Admission is $2 per person school-aged and older.
    This evening’s activities also includes a pancake supper at the Wauneta Senior Center and night swim at the Wauneta Swimming Pool.

Family events Friday
    Friday’s schedule of events is focused on the family with planned events for all ages. Activities kick off at 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT at the pool where youngsters can compete in the pool olympics sponsored by the Village of Wauneta.
    Friday evening there will be several activities at the park including a petting zoo sponsored by Wauneta Crossroads, walking tacos served by the Lions Club and sand volleyball.
    Western States Bank will host several kid’s games at the park starting at 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT. Games will include sack races and sponge relays for those between four and 12 years of age, a toddler trot for those three and under and a water balloon toss for everyone.
    After the kids’ games head down to the baseball field for knockerball. There are height and size requirements for participation.
    Friday’s activities will conclude with an 8:30 p.m. MT/9:30 p.m. CT showing of “Angels in the Outfield” at the baseball field. Be sure to bring chairs or blankets to sit on for the showing.
 

To read the full story, subscribe to the e-edition online or call the Breeze at 308-394-5389 to subscribe to the print edition.

Wauneta Breeze

308-394-5389 (Phone)

308-394-5931 (Fax)

324 N. Tecumseh

PO Box 337

Wauneta NE 69045