Big ticket items lining up for Gittlein benefit auction

Saturday night is going to be much more than a benefit dinner for the Gittlein family, whose son and brother, Regan, returned home last week after nearly two months in the hospital.
    The evening kicks off with a 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT meal to include pulled pork sandwiches, hamburgers, baked potatoes, vegetables, desserts and drinks. Free will offerings will be taken.    
    The planning committee is preparing to serve 500 people, said Joey Large of Wauneta, one of the committee members working on Saturday’s events at the new expo building on the fairgrounds.
    But people will have the opportunity to donate even more at silent and live auctions also scheduled Saturday night.
    When people arrive for the meal, tables of silent auction items will be ready for bid-taking, with the live auction to start at 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT.
    Some of the bigger ticket items will be sold by a group of area auctioneers during the live auction headed up by Doug Dean of rural Wauneta, Large noted.
    On Tuesday, Large listed a few of the items that have already been donated for the silent/live auctions. They expected more to come in as the week progresses:
    A seven-month old replacement quality heifer for a 4-H program.
    Live hog and processing.

To read the full story, subscribe to the e-edition online or call the Breeze at 308-394-5389 to subscribe to the print edition.

Wauneta Breeze

308-394-5389 (Phone)

308-394-5931 (Fax)

324 N. Tecumseh

PO Box 337

Wauneta NE 69045