2018 Harvest Festival theme, grand marshal announced

The Wauneta Harvest Festival committee has been planning this year’s community celebration, set for July 26-29, 2018.
    This year’s theme is “Country Roads, Take Me Home” and Chuck Gray has been named the 2018 parade grand marshal.
    Thursday will be the first day of Harvest Fest, and will kick off with sloppy joes at the Senior Center from 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT to 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT followed by bingo. There will also be night swim available for $1 at the Wauneta Public Swimming Pool from 8 p.m. MT/9 p.m. CT to 12 midnight/1 a.m. CT.
    Friday events will begin at the Wauneta Public Swimming Pool where pool olympics will be held at 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT to 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT.
    There will be a variety of activities at the Wauneta Park area including:
    Bounce House sponsored by the Lions Club; 4:30 p.m. MT/5:30 CT to 8 p.m. MT/9 p.m. CT.
    Petting Zoo sponsored by Wauneta Crossroads; 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT.
    Craft and Vendor Show; 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT to 8 p.m. MT/9 p.m. CT.
    Walking Tacos sponsored by the Lions Club; 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT to 7:30 p.m. MT/8:30 p.m. CT.
    Kid’s games sponsored by Western States Bank at 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT.
    Sand Volleyball; 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT.
    Free Movie, Angels in the Outfield; 8:30 p.m. MT/9:30 p.m. CT.
    Saturday events include:
    Registration for Yucca Run; 6:30 a.m. MT/7:30 a.m. CT.
    Yucca Run; 7 a.m. MT/8 a.m. CT.
    Fun Run; 7:45 a.m. MT/8:45 a.m. CT.
    BWTelcom Courtesy Breakfast; 7 a.m. MT/8 a.m. CT to 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT.
    Root Beer Floats; 9:30 a.m. MT/10:30 a.m. CT to 11 a.m. MT/12 noon CT; WP Volleyball team.
    Parade line-up; 8:30 a.m. MT/9:30 a.m. CT.
    Smoke Off General Meeting; 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT.
    Lutherans For Life Bake Sale; 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT.
    Parade; 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT.
    Poker Walk; 11 a.m. MT/12 noon CT.
    HomeTown Agency/ BWTelcom Appreciation Lunch Hot Dogs & Brats; 11:30 a.m. MT/12:30 a.m. CT.
    Lunch Specials at Wauneta Crossroads; 11 a.m. MT/12 noon CT to 2 p.m. MT/3 p.m. CT.
    Cody Fanning Horseshoe Tournament; 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT.
    Free Swimming; 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT to 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT.
    Ultimate Yard Games; 2 p.m. MT/3 p.m. CT.
    Duck Races; 3:15 p.m. MT/4:15 p.m. CT.
    Smoke Off Free BBQ; 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT.
    Dance, Rock Creek Coalition; 8:30 p.m. MT/9:30 p.m. CT to 12:30 a.m. MT/1:30 a.m. CT.

To read the full story, subscribe to the e-edition online or call the Breeze at 308-394-5389 to subscribe to the print edition

Wauneta Breeze

308-394-5389 (Phone)

308-394-5931 (Fax)

324 N. Tecumseh

PO Box 337

Wauneta NE 69045