Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Three file for County Commissioner District No. 1 seat PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 03 March 2016 16:02

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze


Four more candidates filed for local races the past week as the final filing deadline for the 2016 election arrived.

Joe Johnston, Rep., filed for the Chase County Commissioner District No. 1 seat on Friday. The other three filings were for the Chase County Schools Board of Education. Robert Hartman filed Monday. Carrie Terryberry and Josh Fries filed on Tuesday, the final day filings could be accepted.

The late filings will create races for the commissioner seat. The commissioner race is partisan, meaning only one member of each political party will advance to the General Election. Johnston and incumbent Chuck Vette are both running on the Republican ticket. The Republican commissioner candidate winning the Primary will advance to the General Election. Only those registered Republican will vote in that Primary race.

Ted Brewer is the only Democrat to file for the seat and will therefore automatically advance to the General Election.

All other filers in local races will automatically advance to the General Election.

Three incumbents—Sheila Stromberger, Karl Meeske and Willy O’Neil—and three new filers—Hartman, Terryberry and Fries—will compete for five seats on the Chase County Schools Board of Education.

All other county office incumbents are the only ones seeking the seats they now hold.

The Imperial City Council and Imperial Airport Authority each have two seats open this year. Incumbents Johna Jablonski  and Rob Aslesen, respectively, were the only two to file for the open seats.

Incumbents John Jutten, Jon Anderjaska and Jason Hicks are running uncontested for the three open seats on the Wauneta-Palisade Public Schools Board.

County Clerk Debra Clark stayed open an hour later Tuesday to take late filings until 5 p.m.


State and regional races

Incumbent Adrian Smith will run uncontested for U. S. Representative in Congress Dist. 3.

Incumbent Jerry Vap (R) of McCook has been challenged by Mary Ridder (R) of Callaway for the Nebraska Public Service Commission Dist. 5 seat.

Bob Phares, incumbent, will run without contest for the University of Nebraska Board of Regents Dist. 7 seat.

Bill Hoyt of McCook has challenged incumbent Larry Linstrom of North Platte for the Nebraska Public Power District Subdivision 4 seat.

Six seats on the Mid-Plains Community College Board of Governors will be voted on this year. They are currently held by Matthew E. Broz of Hayes Center, Dist. 1; JoEtta Brown of Brule, Dist. 2; Louis Stithem of Broken Bow, Dist. 3; Kent Miller of North Platte, Dist. 4; Ernie Mehl of North Platte, Dist. 5 and Ted Klug, Jr. of Maxwell, an at-large member. All six incumbents filed by the deadline. No new filers have filed with the Secretary of State for these seats.


Positions with later filing deadline

Positions on the Wauneta Village Board, Lamar Village Board, ESUs, Southwest Public Power District and Imperial Public Power District will not be included on the Primary Ballot in November.

The two seats up for election this year on the Wauneta Village Board are those currently held by Lloyd Sinner and Rick Einspahr. Sinner has indicated he does not plan to seek re-election once his current term expires.

The Lamar Village Board also has two seats on this year’s ballot. They include one seat currently held by Suzie Alderson and one open seat formerly held by Steve Carpenter.

Southwest Public Power District (SWPPD) has two open seats, one open seat formerly held by Bob Romine in Sub District No. 2 and one currently held by Rod Spencer in Sub District No. 3.

Two seats on the Imperial Public Power District board will be voted on in November. The seats are currently held by Bill Brophy and Russ Pankonin.

The incumbent filing deadline for the General Election is July 15 for incumbents and August 1 for non-incumbents. To date, no incumbents or non-incumbents have filed for election to these positions.