Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Incumbents file for re-election to area offices by deadline PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 18 February 2016 00:00

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

Most of the Chase County incumbents whose seats are up for election this year have filed for re-election. New filers, those who do not currently hold an elected office, still have some time to file–until Tuesday, March 1.

Many important local and statewide office-holders are up for election in 2016.

One county commissioner seat will be on the ballot this year, the District No. 1 seat currently held by Chuck Vette of Wauneta. Vette has filed for re-election. Non-incumbent Ted Brewer has also filed for the seat.

There are three Upper Republican NRD seats up for election this year in Chase County. They include Subdistrict No. 3 held by Kerry Bernhardt of Champion, Subdistrict No. 5 held by Tom Gaschler of Imperial and Subdistrict No. 7 held by Tom Terryberry of Imperial.

All three incumbents filed with the Secretary of State by the Feb. 18 deadline. Thomas Schroder of Grant also filed for the Subdistrict No. 9 seat he currently holds.

Area schools

Three seats on the Wauneta-Palisade Public Schools Board are up for election in 2016. As of Tuesday evening all three incumbents, Jon Anderjaska, John Jutten and Jason Hicks have filed for re-election.

Chase County Schools board of education members whose terms run out this year include Tom Gaschler, Willey O’Neil, Gregg Smith, Karl Meeske and Sheila Stromberger. O’Neil, Meeske and Stromberger filed for re-election by the Feb. 16 deadline.

Mid-Plains Community College’s District No. 2 seat currently held by JoEtta Brown Brule, who has filed for re-election, is up for election this year as well.

Other incumbent registrations for the Mid-Plains Community College Board of Governors include Matthew Broz of Hayes Center for an at large seat, Louis Stitthem of Broken Bow for a District No. 3 seat, Kent Miller of North Platte for a District No. 4 seat and Ernie Mehl of North Platte for a District No. 5 seat.

Imperial positions

Two seats on the Imperial City Council are up for election this year. As of Tuesday evening Johna Jablonski was the only incumbent who filed for reelection. The Imperial Airport Authority also has two seats up for election in 2016. As of Tuesday’s deadline, Rob Asleen was the only  incumbent who had filed for re-election.

State positions

Bob Phares of North Platte has filed for re-election to the UNL Board of Regents, District No. 7 seat he currently holds.

Jerry Vap filed for re-election to the Nebraska Public Service Commission District No. 5 seat he currently holds.

Larry Lindstrom of North Platte filed for re-election to the Nebraska Public Power District, Subdivision No. 4 seat. Bill Hoyt of McCook has also filed for the Subdivision No. 4 seat.

November ballot

A number of local boards will have seats up for election on the November ballot. Incumbents who wish to run for re-election for these boards will have until July 15 to file their intentions. New filers will have until Aug. 1 to file.

Boards with the later deadline include the Wauneta Village Board, Lamar Village Board, Imperial Public Power District and Southwest Public Power District Board.

As of Tuesday there have been no filings for the offices with the later deadline.