Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Chemigation trainings to be offered in area PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Friday, 15 January 2016 16:39

By Strahinja Stepanovic

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Extension

Cropping Systems Extension Educator in Perkins, Chase and Dundy Counties


Producers whose chemigation certificates expired on Dec. 31, 2015 and who plan to chemigate in 2016 are required to attend a training session and pass a written exam to become recertified. Requirements for initial and recertification are the same.

Strahinja Stepanovic, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Extension Cropping Systems Extension Educator in Perkins, Chase and Dundy Counties will lead a training Thursday, Feb. 11 at the Henry J. Stumpf International Wheat Center in Grant, Neb. The training will take place from 1:30 p.m. MT/ 2:30 p.m. CT until 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. MT.

Other area trainings, led by Robert Tigner, include:

• March 2, McCook, 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT to 3:30 p.m. MT/4:30 p.m. CT at the Red Willow County Fairgrounds Community Building.

• March 8, Stratton, 12 p.m. MT/1 p.m. CT to 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT at the Veterans Building.

• March 24, Hayes Center, 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT to 3:30 p.m. MT/4:30 p.m. CT at the 4-H Building on the Hayes County Fairgrounds.

Those who plan to become certified must pre-register with the extension office whose training they plan to attend. Once pre-registered, attendees may request a copy of the training manual and calibration workbook to review prior to the training session.

On the day of the training session, attendees are asked to bring their Chemigation Training Manual, Calibration Workbook, a No. 2 pencil and a calculator along to use during the training.

Those who do not preregister, will receive a new copy of the training materials the day of the training.

Review of the material in the training manual prior to the training session is encouraged as instructors say it will help when taking the exam.

Training and testing will take approximately two-and-a-half to three-and-a-half hours. There is no charge for the training or the manuals.

To learn more about the time and location of a training sessions contact the local Extension Office.

Information, including a complete list of training dates and locations, will be available online after Jan. 15 at the NDEQ chemigation page, http://deq.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/Chemtrai or at the Nebraska Extension site, http://water.unl.edu/cropswater/chemigation.

If inclement weather forces postponement of a training session, it will be rescheduled. Learn more about the trainings by calling the Extension Offices in Perkins County at 402-318-1124, in Chase County at 308-882-4731 or  in Dundy County at 308-423-2021.