Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Santa Saturday: Annual celebration promises Christmas fun PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 17 December 2015 00:00

By Pat Holder

The Wauneta Breeze

 

Wauneta’s Santa Saturday arrives this weekend, Dec. 19 in downtown Wauneta, right on time to get everyone in the Christmas spirit.

The day’s activities kick off with a bake sale from 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT to 2 p.m. MT/3 p.m. CT sponsored by Mercy Meals of Southwest Nebraska.

Kids’ entertainment includes a free matinee at the Chateau Theatre starting at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT sponsored by the Wauneta Chamber.

After the movie, kids will have a chance to go home with a special gift at the third-annual kids’-only drawing. Sign up for the kids’-only drawing is at the theatre Saturday morning.

Santa makes his appearance and hands out goodies after the matinee. Photos of kids with Santa will be taken at the gazebo by a Wauneta Breeze representative, one of each child. Copies of photos will be available to parents who wish to order them at the Breeze website the following week.

The Chamber drawings for adults will begin after the movie around noon MT/1 p.m. CT. Prizes from Wauneta Chamber member businesses will be awarded to winning entrants at least 18 years of age. Winners must be present to win.

Beginning at 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT the United Methodist Women’s Christmas Corner Store will open for its final day at the Senior Center. Individuals of all ages are welcome to come shop for Christmas gifts, each costing just a quarter. Free gift wrap is also available.