Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

UMC to offer Christmas Quarter Store–a great deal for everyone PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 10 December 2015 00:00

Just a small sampling of the many items for sale at the UMW Christmas Quarter Store. (Pat Holder | Johnson Publications)

 

By Pat Holder

The Wauneta Breeze

 

The Christmas Quarter Store, sponsored by the Wauneta United Methodist Women, is an event that offers newly purchased and gently used gift items for the bargain price of 25 cents each. The store will be open this week and next week on Saturday, Dec. 12 and 19 from 1 to 4 p.m. MT/2 to 5 p.m. CT at the Wauneta Senior Center. Free gift wrapping will be available.

This special event was spearheaded by Carol Maddux with inspiration from similar projects in Ogallala and Kimball.

 

Upcoming services

The Palisade and Wauneta United Methodist Churches will hold special services to commemorate the season.

The Wauneta and Palisade United Methodist Churches will hold a joint worship service in Wauneta Sunday, Dec. 13 at 10:30 a.m. MT/11:30 a.m. CT. This worship service will include the children’s Christmas program which features The Lord’s Joyful Singers, along with the United Methodist Youth Fellowship members and adult members of the congregation.

Christmas Eve Services at the United Methodist Churches in Wauneta and Palisade on Thursday, Dec. 24 offer a celebration of carols and hymns. The Palisade Christmas Eve Service begins at 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT and the Wauneta Christmas Eve service is at 6:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p.m. CT.  The UMC invites everyone to attend.

Also slated on the church-sponsored events agenda are two services aimed at helping those who have challenges especially during the Christmas season when pressure to be jolly may prove burdensome.

Called “Blue Christmas/Longest Night services, the services are tailor-made for anyone who faces tough challenges. These pressures include such things as life after divorce or separation, loss of a job, serious illness that may be life threatening, or even death of a loved one.

The services are offered for everyone who would like to participate in a time of worship and reflection. The special services will be held Dec. 13 with the first in Palisade at 4:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m. CT and the second in Wauneta at 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT.