Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Santa Claus to visit Palisade this Saturday, Wauneta next PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Wednesday, 09 December 2015 00:00

Bingo, sponsored by the CS Club, is always a well-attended event during Palisade’s Old Fashioned Christmas. The festivities will begin this Saturday afternoon. (Breeze file photo)

 

Community Christmas celebration season

is here–Palisade this weekend, Wauneta next


By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

 

 

Christmas is just two weeks away and this Saturday and next will provide opportunities to celebrate the season.

Palisade will host its annual Christmas celebration this Saturday, Dec. 12. Wauneta’s Santa Saturday will be held next weekend, Dec. 19.

 

Old-Fashioned Christmas

Palisade’s Old Fashioned Christmas is packed with family-friendly activities to get everyone in the spirit of Christmas.

At 12 p.m. MT/1 p.m. CT the Community Service Club will sponsor bingo at the Legion Hall.

The Pioneer Days Committee will show a children’s movie at the Auxiliary Hall starting at 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT.

The guest of honor, here all the way from the North Pole and dressed in red, will arrive at the Auxiliary Hall at approximately 2 p.m. MT/3 p.m. CT.

 

 

Santa Saturday

Wauneta’s Santa Saturday, sponsored by the Wauneta Chamber, will kick off at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT with a free showing of “Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb” at the Chateau Theatre.

Starting at 9 a.m. MT/ 10 a.m. CT Mercy Meals of Southwest Nebraska will host a fundraiser bake sale at the Mercy Meals house. The bake sale will conclude at 2 p.m. MT/3 p.m. CT.

For the third year, the Wauneta Chamber and businesses will hold a kids-only (17 and under) drawing for movie posters and prizes. Prizes will be awarded in two age categories–nine and under and 10-17.

Kids may sign up for the kids-only drawing at the Chateau Theatre Saturday morning. After the movie, prize winners will be drawn in the Chateau Theatre. Kids must be present to win.

After the movie and the kids drawing at the Chateau, Santa will make his appearance in downtown Wauneta at around noon MT/1 p.m. CT.

Santa will hand out holiday goodies to people of all ages, with help from the Wauneta Volunteer Fire Department in both filling and distributing the goodie bags.

Wauneta Breeze representatives will take photos of children with Santa at the gazebo.

The always-anticipated Santa Saturday drawings will follow Santa’s visit, beginning at approximately 12:30 MT/1:30 p.m. CT.

Area Chamber businesses have entry forms for the drawings. Entrants must be at least 18 years of age to enter–entries must be received by Friday, Dec. 11. Individuals must be present to win.

The United Methodist Church will also host a “Christmas Quarter Store” Dec. 12 and 19 in Wauneta.

Last Updated on Monday, 14 December 2015 16:45