Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Broncos hit the court in NSAA Jamboree games against Ogallala PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 03 December 2015 00:00

Cameo Rector drives past the Ogallala guard. (Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications)

 

By Diane Stamm

The Wauneta Breeze


The Wauneta-Palisade basketball teams dove into competitive action Saturday with games against Ogallala as part of the NSAA Jamboree.


Heading into the game, Broncos’ head coach Matt Cox said he wasn’t worried about the score.


Cox used the first half to get 12 players into the game.


“The offensive flow was pretty choppy and you could tell the girls were really thinking too much and trying to do everything exactly like we asked

them to do,” Cox said.

 

WP trailed 18-35 at halftime. The Broncos came together in the second half, outscoring Ogallala 31-24.


“The second half was a different story—they became much more comfortable with the pace of the game and that translated into some forced turnovers out of our press and that led to some lay ups,” Cox said.


All 15 Broncos saw action in the contest. Faith Simpson led WP with 29 points. Colby Cox also finished in double figures with 13 points and added three assists and five steals. Each made two three pointers.


As the Broncos continue into the season, Cox said he hopes to see improvement in the rebounding department and ideally get more players scoring.


In the boys’ game, the young WP squad had its hands full with an older, more experienced Ogallala team. The Indians played only juniors and seniors. Four players were 6’3” or taller.


Missing juniors Tyler Davis and Greg Gaston, the Broncos’ lineup took a hit when senior Chase Rathe went down with an ankle injury on WP’s first

offensive series.

 

Playing a steady rotation of freshman around senior Paul Behrends, junior Brody Nordhausen and sophomore Cash Yearous, WP quickly fell behind

to the Class C1 team.

 

With a large halftime deficit, score was not kept in the second half. The games do not count towards the teams’ season records and proceeds from the contest went to the Nebraska High School Hall of Fame.


Upcoming games

Tonight, Dec. 3, WP hosts Wallace. Games begin at 3:00 p.m. MT/4:00 p.m. CT. Friday the Broncos travel to Brady with games beginning at

3:00 p.m. MT/4:00 p.m. CT. The Broncos will head to McCook Dec. 8, 11 and 12 for the Cattle Trail Invitational Tournament.


The Lady Broncos will take on Medicine Valley to start the tournament Dec. 8 at 2:30 p.m. MT/3:30 p.m. CT at the McCook Community College Events Center.

WP will face either Arapahoe or Hitchcock County Friday, Dec. 11. Whether WP gets a win over Medicine Valley or not, WP will play at 2:30 p.m. MT/3:30 p.m. CT. WP would play at MCC if it beats Medicine Valley or the McCook High School gym if it loses to the Raiders. The final rounds of the tournament will be played Dec. 12. The Bronco boys will begin the tournament at 4:00 p.m. MT/5:00 p.m. CT against Hitchcock County in the high school gym. On Dec. 11, WP will play either Dundy County-Stratton or Maywood at 7:00 p.m. MT/8:00 p.m. CT. With a win over the Falcons, WP will play at MCC. A loss would lead to a game at the high school.

 

Brody Nordhausen handles the ball in the Broncos' game against Ogallala. (Diane Stamm | Johnson Publications)