Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Color Me Courageous Run Saturday PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 01 October 2015 21:27

Registrations accepted through Saturday,

event will take place rain or shine


By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze


The Nebraska Kids TRUTH (Tell, Respond, Understand, Treat, Heal) Campaign’s Color Me Courageous Run is just days away.

The run will be held at Campbell Park in Imperial on Saturday beginning at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT. The event will feature a kids’ one-mile color run, followed by a 5k color run for adults. Walkers are also encouraged to participate.

Organizer Dave Vrbas of Lincoln said although there is a chance for rain Saturday  the event will take place rain or shine, unless weather turns threatening. He went on to say a “good-sized crowd” is expected to attend Saturday’s event.

Those who preregistered may pick up their event packets Friday between 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT and 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT at 509 Broadway in Imperial.

Preregistration is closed for the Color Run; however,  registrations are still being accepted.

Individuals who would like to participate in the event, but have not yet registered may also do so Friday afternoon at 509 Broadway or prior to the event at Campbell Park. However, event t-shirts will most likely not be available for those who register Friday or Saturday.


Kids’ carnival

A new feature of the run/walk this year is a kids’ carnival, which will be held after the kids’ color run. The carnival will provide a safe place for children from prekindergarten through preteens to play while their parents partake in the 5k color run for adults.

The kids’ carnival will feature a variety of games such as sack races, a bean bag toss and a duck pond. There will also be an educational component to the carnival including a spinning wheel which will land on different colors and game leaders will ask children different questions about body safety.

The group will also hand out flyers about body safety at the event. All children who participate in the carnival will receive prizes.


Funds used for education and support

The funds raised at last year’s round of color runs have been used to support families in crisis. Soon, the group will also begin distribution of pamphlets focusing on body safety to preschools across the state.

“We’re excited to get started on the educational component of our mission,” Vrbas said.

Funds raised from the color runs and donations to the group will be used in support of the Nebraska Kids TRUTH Campaign’s mission which advocates for Nebraska children who suffer from any type of abuse.

Contact Heidi Anderson at 308-883-1079 for more information.