Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

FSA county committee nomination period in Chase, Hayes, Hitchcock counties open PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 30 July 2015 18:01

The nomination period for the Chase and Hayes-Hitchcock FSA county committees began on June 15, 2015. Nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the respective FSA Office by close of business on Aug. 3, 2015.

County Committees are unique to FSA and allow producers to have a voice on federal farm program implementation at the local level.

To be eligible to serve on the FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in an agency administered program, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the Local Administrative Area (LAA) where they are nominated.

All producers, including women, minority and beginning farmers and ranchers are encouraged to participate in the nomination and election process.

This year, nominations and elections will be held for  Chase County in LAA 1, which includes the townships of Pearl, Enterprise, Chase, Pioneer and Wauneta. Elections will also be held in LAA 3, which includes the townships of Canby, Imperial, Champion and Logan.

Hayes and Hitchcock Counties are accepting nominations in LAA 1, which includes the following precincts: Deerfield, Harrison, Antelope, High Ridge, Swan Lake and Hamlet.

Producers may nominate themselves or others as candidates. Organizations representing minority and women farmers and ranchers may also nominate candidates.

To become a nominee, eligible individuals must sign form FSA-669A. The form and more information about county committee elections is available online at:

Elected county committee members serve a three-year term and are responsible for making decisions on FSA disaster, conservation, commodity and price support programs, as well as other important federal farm program issues. County committees consist of three to 11 members.

FSA will mail election ballots to eligible voters beginning Nov. 9.

Ballots are due back in the respective County Office by mail or in person no later than Dec. 7, 2015.

All newly elected county committee members and alternates will take office January 1, 2016.

For more information about county committees, please contact the Hayes-Hitchcock County FSA office at (308) 286-3297, the Chase County FSA office at 308-882-4263 Ext. 2 or visit