Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Southwest Public Power to hold 70th anniversary celebration next week in Wauneta PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 23 July 2015 00:00

Southwest Public Power District will provide free bucket truck rides as part of their 70th anniversary celebration in Wauneta on July 28. The celebration will also include a hamburger/hot dog feed and a hotline safety demonstration. (Breeze File Photo)


By Dharma Blake-Cole

The Wauneta Breeze


Southwest Public Power District is celebrating its 70th anniversary this year. To commemorate the accomplishment celebrations will be held in several towns within their service area.

SWPPD has already held celebrations in Palisade and Culbertson. They will hold one in Wauneta on July 28, in Benkelman on July 30, in Hayes Center on Aug. 4, in Trenton on Aug. 6, in Haigler on Aug. 10 and in Stratton on Sept. 30.

The celebration in Wauneta on July 28 will be held at the Wauneta-Palisade Schools Ag shop, located next to the Wauneta-Palisade Schools football field.

As part of the celebration SWPPD will give  free bucket truck rides from 5:30 p.m. MT/ 6:30 p.m. CT to 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT. They will also hold a hamburger/hot dog feed from 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT to 6:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p/m. CT.

Starting at 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT a hotline safety demonstration will be available for attendees.

SWPPD will hold a prize drawing at the end of the night, after the hotline safety demonstration, where an old fashioned light bulb retro-fitted with LED lights will be given away.

SWPPD owners and staff are looking forward to visiting with all of the Wauneta and surrounding area citizens who attend the celebration and hope to continue to serve their customers for many more years and to celebrate many more events in the future.