Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Harvest Fest starts today PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 23 July 2015 00:00

New this year–Ventriloquist show,

bike rodeo, bounce house,

toddler trot and baby crawl

 

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

 

Wauneta’s Harvest Festival kicks off tonight (Thursday) with one of many new events during the four-day celebration.

Tonight, the Wauneta Chamber is hosting a family friendly comedy ventriloquism act at the Chateau Theatre. The show will feature comedy ventriloquism, singing and voices including performances with Francis’ “puppet characters, cartoon voices, original jokes, music and lots of fun.”

Francis and his sidekick, “Wingnut,” have been entertaining audiences since Francis was 10 years old, when he learned about the art of ventriloquism from a book. He built his first puppet from paper mache and a balloon. He makes all his own characters today.

The comedian lives in Denver and has performed on cruise ships, at colleges, comedy clubs, festivals and special events all over the country including several years of performances at the Tumbleweed Festival in Gordon, Neb.

The Wayne and “Wingnut” show starts at 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT tonight, Thursday, July 24. Tickets are $5 and available at the door. Movie passes will not be accepted.

The Senior Center will host a pancake, egg and sausage supper at the Senior Center tonight starting at 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT so be sure to stop by there first to grab a bite to eat before the show.

After the show families can head over to the Wauneta Swimming Pool for night swimming from 8 p.m. MT/9 p.m. CT to 12:00 a.m. MT/1 a.m. CT, weather permitting. Admission will be $1 for everyone, season passes not accepted.

 

 

Lots to do Friday

Several activities are planned for Friday afternoon including another new event, a bicycle rodeo sponsored by the Chase County Hospital and Clinics nursing staff. The rodeo will get started at 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT at the Wauneta Medical Clinic.

The Village of Wauneta and Susie’s Creative Stitches have teamed up to offer a Harvest Fest staple event, Pool Olympics, on Friday afternoon at 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT at the Wauneta Swimming Pool. The event will feature raft boat races and fun events for youngsters as well as a diving contest and other games for the older kids. Prizes will be awarded.

Voting in the annual digital photo contest begins Friday afternoon from 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT to 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT at Champa Group. All are invited to stop by and vote for their favorites. The categories in this year’s contest are automobiles, BRAN 35 and general. Entries are due to Champa Group by 12 p.m. MT/1 p.m. CT today (Thursday). The photo contest winners will be announced Saturday evening.

Other activities are set to begin Friday afternoon. The Lions Club will sponsor a bounce house at the park from 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT until 8 p.m. MT/9 p.m. CT. They will also host their popular Walking Taco feed at the park starting at 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT. During the same time the Methodist Youth Group will also offer root beer floats at the park.

At 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT the youngest Harvest Fest attendees will have their own special events–the Toddler Trot  (ages 2 to 5) and Baby Crawl (birth to age 2)–hosted by the Hamlet MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) chapter. Toddlers are invited to wear their super hero capes for the event. Prizes will be awarded to each participant.

Friday evening at 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT there will be sand volleyball and a baseball game at the park. The Wauneta C Team will go head to head against their parents.

Friday night wraps up with a 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT showing of “Max” at the Chateau Theatre.

 

 

Saturday morning offers host of activities

Saturday things get into full swing with many activities planned for the entire family. The day begins with the annual Yucca Run and Fun Run.   Registration for the Yucca Run begins at 6:30 a.m. MT/7:30 a.m. CT with the run starting at 7 a.m. MT/8 a.m. CT. The fun run will follow at 7:45 a.m. MT/8:45 CT.

Next up will be the annual BWTelcom courtesy breakfast from 7 a.m. MT/8 a.m. CT until 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT.

Parade floats will begin to line up at 8:30 a.m. MT/9:30 a.m. CT in the school parking lot. Entrants must be in line by 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT to be judged. Parade entry forms are available at Valley Bank and the Wauneta Breeze in Wauneta and the Imperial Republican in Imperial.

Viewing of entries in the digital photo contest at Champa Group and the Southwest Nebraska Entrepreneurs craft show begin at 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT. Hometown Family Radio will also be in town starting at 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT with their “Spin and Win” game.

The parade will begin at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT. The theme for the 2015 parade is “Keeping Southwest Nebraska Connected.” The staff of Southwest Public Power District will serve as Grand Marshals. The Wauneta-Palisade volleyball team will be selling root beer floats along the parade route during the parade again this year.

 

 

Whirlwind of activities after parade Saturday

After the parade there are several activities planned for kids of all ages. Harchelroad Motors will host a Poker Walk after the parade. The Wauneta Palisade Cheerleaders will sell sno cones and offer face painting downtown after the parade.

There will also be a Nickel Scramble for preschoolers and chalk art competition, water balloon toss and hula hoops for all ages sponsored by Valley Bank after the parade. Chalk artists should plan to bring their own chalk supplies. Water balloons and hula hoops will be provided.

Wauneta Crossroads will offer special Harvest Fest lunch specials from 11 a.m. MT/12 p.m. CT until 2 p.m. MT/3 p.m. CT. Good Times Bar will also serve lunch specials and their regular menu items from 11 a.m. MT/12 p.m. CT until 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT.

The water fights sponsored by the Wauneta Volunteer Fire Department kick off at 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT with registration 30 minutes earlier at noon MT/1 p.m. CT.

Good Times Bar will once again offer nickel beer during the water fights until the fights conclude or the tap runs dry.

The Village of Wauneta will host free swimming at the Wauneta Swimming Pool during the afternoon from 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT until 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT. The Wauneta FFA duck race will begin at 3:15 p.m. MT/4:15 p.m. CT.

The fourth annual Cody Fanning memorial horseshoe tournament will be held Saturday afternoon in the city-owned grassy area at the north end of Shawnee Avenue, between the football field and the river. The tournament begins at 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT. The contest will be limited to 16 teams. The first, second and third place winners will earn back their $20 entry fees. Contact T.J. Ellicott at 308-350-1183 to register or sign up Saturday before 3:30 p.m. MT/4:30 p.m. CT.

 

 

Saturday evening fun

Saturday night be sure to come out and share a good meal and conversation at the free barbecue on main street sponsored by the Wauneta Chamber. The Methodist Church will also sell homemade pie, ice cream and drinks during the barbecue. The photo contest winners will be announced at the barbecue.

After the meal, be sure to stop by the Chateau Theatre to watch local performers showcase their talents at the Harvest Fest Talent show, which will start at 7 p.m. MT/8 pm. CT. Admission is $2 per person school-aged and older.

The evening will end with a mainstreet concert featuring the Sherman County String Band and a 9 p.m. MT/10 p.m. CT showing of the showing of “Max” at the Chateau Theatre.

The concert and dance will take place on the north end of Tecumseh. The bluegrass and country music concert is open to those aged 16 and over. In case of bad weather the concert will be held at the Wauneta American Legion.

The weekend festival will end on Sunday with a Sunday Dinner of roast beef, ham and the fixings offered at the Senior Center from 11 a.m. MT/12 p.m. CT until 1 p.m. MT/ 2 p.m. CT. The weekend concludes with a 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT showing of “Max” at the Chateau Theatre.

The schedule is subject to change. See the full schedule on page 7 of the print and/or e-edition or online at WaunetaHarvestFestival.com.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 July 2015 19:23