Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Wauneta’s annual Harvest Festival just around the corner PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Friday, 17 July 2015 22:03

Festivities kick off

next Thursday


By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze


Wauneta’s annual Harvest Fest celebration is just around the corner. The four-day event will begin on Thursday, July 23 with a pancake supper at the Wauneta Senior Center, the ventriloquist act of Wayne and “Wingnut” and night swimming at the Wauneta Swimming Pool.

Several activities are planned for Friday afternoon including a bike rodeo, new this year, sponsored by the Chase County Community Hospital and Clinics nursing staff.

The Village of Wauneta will also offer Pool Olympics that afternoon at the Wauneta Swimming Pool. Thursday afternoon Champa Group will also have photo contest entries on display for judging.

The Lion’s Club will host a bounce house for the kids at the Wauneta Park. The Lion’s Club will also host their popular Walking Taco feed at the park starting at 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT. The Methodist Youth Group will serve root beer floats at the park starting at 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT.

Friday evening there will be activities at the park for adults and children alike. The Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPS) group will host a toddler trot and baby crawl. There will also be sand volleyball and a high-stakes game of baseball between the Wauneta C Team boys and their parents.

The evening will finish with a 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT showing of the movie “Max” at Wauneta’s Chateau Theatre.


Lots to do Saturday

Saturday things get into full swing with many activities planned for the entire family. The day begins with the annual Yucca Run and Fun Run. Next up will be the annual BW Telcom courtesy breakfast. Viewing of entries in the digital photo contest at Champa Group and the Southwest Nebraska Entrepreneurs craft fair begin at 9 a.m. MT.

The parade will begin at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT. The theme for the 2015 parade is “Keeping Southwest Nebraska Connected.” The staff of Southwest Public Power District will serve as Grand Marshals. The Wauneta-Palisade volleyball team will be selling root beer floats along the parade route during the parade again this year.

Parade entry forms are available at Valley Bank and the Wauneta Breeze in Wauneta and the Imperial Republican in Imperial.

After the parade there are several activities planned for kids of all ages as well as some great treats. There will also be a Nickel Scramble for preschoolers and chalk art competition sponsored by Valley Bank. Chalk artists should plan to bring their own chalk supplies.

The Wauneta-Palisade cheerleaders will also offer sno cones and face painting after the parade. Harchelroad Motors will host a Poker Walk after the parade.

The water fights sponsored by the Wauneta Volunteer Fire Department kick off at 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT. The water fights are open to those age 8 and older.

The Village of Wauneta will also host free swimming at the Wauneta Swimming Pool during the afternoon. The Wauneta FFA duck race will begin at 3:15 p.m. MT/4:15 p.m. CT.

The fourth annual Cody Fanning Memorial Horseshoe Tournament will begin at 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT in the city-owned grassy area at the north end of Shawnee Avenue, between the football field and the river.

Saturday night be sure to come out and share a good meal and conversation at the free barbecue on main street sponsored by the Wauneta Chamber. The Methodist Church will also sell homemade pie, ice cream and drinks during the barbecue. Winners of the Digital Photo Contest will be announced after the barbecue.

Following the barbecue, there will be the opportunity to see a showcase of local talent at the Wauneta Harvest Fest Talent Show, held at the Chateau Theatre.

Entries in the talent show will be accepted through Saturday, July 18. Those interested in performing may contact Aaron or Sara Behrends at 308-394-5936 for more information or to sign up.

Saturday festivities will come to a close with the second annual mainstreet concert featuring the Sherman County String Band. The concert and dance will take place outside on the north end of Tecumseh, weather permitting. In case of inclement weather, the concert and dance will be held in the Legion Hall.

Saturday night will also feature a special 9 p.m. MT/10 p.m. CT showing of the movie “Max” at the Chateau Theatre.

The weekend festival will end on Sunday with a Sunday Dinner offered at the Senior Center. The weekend concludes with a showing of “Max” at the Chateau Theatre.

The schedule is subject to change, see more at