Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Harvest Fest starts today: Fun new events, old favorites PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 24 July 2014 16:17

Little ones work to pick up nickels at the Valley Bank Nickel Scramble during Harvest Fest last year. The event, one of the celebration’s “old favorites,” will be offered again this year following the parade on Saturday. (Breeze file photo)

 

New this year–Broadway

on screen, greased pig

chase, pasture golf,

barnyard Olympics,

mainstreet concert

 

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

 

Wauneta’s Harvest Festival kicks off tonight (Thursday) with one of many new events during the four-day celebration.

Tonight, the Wauneta Chamber is hosting a special showing of the Broadway play, “Driving Miss Daisy,” at the Chateau Theatre.

Alfred Uhry’s Pulitzer  Prize winning play tells the story of a long relationship between an elderly southern woman and her African-American chauffeur.

The Broadway production of the play was shot for screen viewing on its Australian tour, after the show had sell-out seasons on Broadway and London’s West End.

The play stars five-time Tony Award and three-time Academy Award nominee Angela Lansbury and two-time Tony Award winner and Academy Award winner James Earl Jones.

The show starts at 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT tonight, Thursday, July 24. Tickets are $10 and available at the door. Movie passes will not be accepted.

The Senior Center will host a pancake, egg and sausage supper at the Senior Center tonight starting at 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT so be sure to stop by there first to grab a bite to eat before the show.

After the show families can head over to the Wauneta Swimming Pool for night swimming from 8 p.m. MT/9 p.m. CT to 12:00 a.m. MT/1 a.m. CT. Admission will be $1 for everyone, season passes not accepted.

 

Lots to do Friday

Several activities are planned for Friday afternoon including a puzzle contest and hot fudge sundaes at the Wauneta Senior Center from 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT to 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT. Teams of two or three will compete to see who can put together 500 piece puzzles the fastest.

The Village of Wauneta and Susie’s Creative Stitches will also offer Pool Olympics Friday afternoon at 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT at the Wauneta Swimming Pool. The event will feature raft boat races and fun events for youngsters as well as a diving contest and other games for the older kids. Prizes will be awarded, including T-shirts from Susie’s.

Voting in the annual digital photo contest begins Friday afternoon from 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT to 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT at Champa Group. All are invited to stop by and vote for their favorites. The categories are flowers and general. Entries are due to Champa Group by 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT today (Thursday). The photo contest winners will be announced Saturday evening.

Other activities are set to begin Friday afternoon. Wellstone Industries will host kids activities at the park Friday afternoon between 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT and 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT. Kids can enjoy egg races and frisbee games. Ribbons and popsicles will be given to the kids. There will be drawings for T-shirts for adults during the games.

Wauneta-Palisade FFA members are sponsoring a greased pig chase for kids, ages four to eight, at the ball diamond outfield starting at 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT. There will be cash prizes for the kids who manage to catch the pig.

The Lion’s Club will host their popular Walking Taco feed at the park starting at 5 p.m. MT/6 p.m. CT.

Friday evening at 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT there will be sand volleyball and men’s baseball at the park.

Friday night wraps up with a showing of “Earth to Echo” at the Chateau Theatre.

 

Saturday offers host of activities

Saturday things get into full swing with many activities planned for the entire family. The day begins with the annual Yucca Run and Fun Run.   Registration for the Yucca Run begins at 6:30 a.m. MT/7:30 a.m. CT with the run starting at 7 a.m. MT/8 a.m. CT. The fun run will follow at 7:45 a.m. MT/8:45 CT.

Next up will be the annual BW Telcom courtesy breakfast from 7 a.m. MT/8 a.m. CT until 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT.

Parade floats will begin to line up at 8:30 a.m. MT/9:30 a.m. CT in the school parking lot. Entrants must be in line by 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT to be judged. Parade entry forms are available at Valley Bank and the Wauneta Breeze in Wauneta and the Imperial Republican in Imperial.

Viewing of entries in the digital photo contest at Champa Group and the Southwest Nebraska Entrepreneurs craft show begin at 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT.

The parade will begin at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT. The theme for the 2014 parade is “Flower Power...Bloomin’ in Wauneta.” Ed and Jo Arenz will serve as Grand Marshals. The Wauneta-Palisade volleyball team will be selling root beer floats along the parade route during the parade again this year.

 

Whirlwind of activities after parade Saturday

After the parade there are several activities planned for kids of all ages as well as some great places to eat. Mercy Meals of Southwest Nebraska will offer an Indian Taco feed at the Legion Hall and Wauneta EMS will be serving sloppy joes at the Ambulance Barn. Wauneta Crossroads will also have lunch specials Saturday after the parade.

Southwest Public Power District will offer bucket truck rides downtown and Harchelroad Motors will host a Poker Walk after the parade. There will also be a Nickel Scramble for preschoolers and chalk art competition sponsored by Valley Bank after the parade. Chalk artists should plan to bring their own chalk supplies.

The water fights sponsored by the Wauneta Volunteer Fire Department kick off at 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT with registration 30 minutes earlier at noon MT/1 p.m. CT.

Good Times Bar will once again offer nickel beer during the water fights until the fights conclude or the tap runs dry. The grill will be shut off during the fights.

The Village of Wauneta will also host free swimming at the Wauneta Swimming Pool during the afternoon from 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT until 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT. The Wauneta FFA duck race will begin at 3:15 p.m. MT/4:15 p.m. CT.

The third annual Cody Fanning memorial horseshoe tournament will be held Saturday afternoon at Tommy’s Sports Club. The tournament beginning at 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT. The contest will be limited to 16 teams.

The first, second and third place winners will earn back their $20 entry fees. Contact T.J. Ellicott at 308-350-1183 to register or sign up Saturday before 3:30 p.m. MT/4:30 p.m. CT.

Another new event for 2014 is pasture golf. Joey Large will host the event at his 9-hole pasture golf course. The event will be offered in two sessions with the first beginning at 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT and the second at 6:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p.m. CT.

 

Saturday evening fun

Saturday night be sure to come out to share a good meal and conversation at the free barbecue on main street sponsored by the Wauneta Chamber. The St. Paul Lutheran Church ladies will also sell homemade pie, ice cream and drinks during the barbecue. The photo contest winners will be announced at the barbecue.

After the meal, Wauneta FFA will host a Barnyard Olympics on main street. The event will include bobbing for apples, a stick horse race, dummy steer roping, a pie eating contest and find the straw in the haystack.

Future FFAers can also take advantage of the FFA photo booth where they can try on an FFA jacket and have their picture taken while pretending they are already in FFA. The Olympics will also include chicken bingo.

The evening will end with the showing of “Earth to Echo” at the Chateau Theatre and a mainstreet concert featuring the Sherman County String Band. The concert and dance will take place on the north end of Tecumseh. The bluegrass and country music concert is open to those aged 16 and over. In case of bad weather the concert will be held at the Wauneta American Legion.

The weekend festival will end on Sunday with a Sunday Dinner offered at the Senior Center. The weekend concludes with a showing of “Earth to Echo” at the Chateau Theatre.

The schedule is subject to change. See the full schedule on page 7 of this issue or online at WaunetaHarvestFestival.com.