Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

All eligible general-only election incumbents filed by deadline PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 17 July 2014 20:32

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze


The incumbent filing deadline for the general-only election was Tuesday. All incumbents eligible for re-election filed by the deadline.

Area offices included in the general-only election include Southwest Public Power, Imperial Public Power, the Village of Lamar, Village of Wauneta and Educational Service Units No. 15 and 16.

New filers have an additional two weeks to file, until Aug. 1, 2014. Voters will go to the polls on Nov. 4 for the general election.


Village boards

Three seats on the Wauneta Village board will be voted on in 2014. The seats to be filled are currently held by Tony Cribelli and Beau Kramer. The third seat is held by Page Johnston, who was appointed to the board to fill Ted Grimm’s position when Grimm passed away.

There are also three seats up for election on the Lamar Village Board, currently held by Kurt Schueler (appointed), Francis Baker and Pat Null.

As of Tuesday, all three of the incumbents for the Wauneta Village Board have filed for re-election. Kurt Schueller is the only incumbent eligible to file for re-election as Baker and Null have moved out of Lamar. No new filers have filed for election with the County Clerk as of Tuesday.


Power districts

Four seats on the Southwest Public Power District (SWPPD) board are up for election this year, two in Sub District No. 1 and two in Sub District No. 2. The Sub District No. 1 seats are currently held by Brent Evans of Haigler and Mike Lutz of Benkelman. The seats cover parts of Dundy, Chase and Hitchcock Counties.

The Sub District No. 2 seats are currently held by Kevin Fornoff of Hayes Center and Kenneth Ham of Wauneta. The seats cover parts of Hayes and Hitchcock Counties.

Seats currently held by Evans, Fornoff and Ham will be elected for six year terms. Lutz was appointed to the board  and his Sub District No. 1 seat will be elected for a four year term.

As of June 24 Lutz, Evans and Fornoff have filed for re-election and no new filers have registered with the Secretary of the State.

One seat on the Imperial Public Power District, an at-large seat, will be included in the November election.

Eric McDaniel was appointed to the Imperial Public Power District in February 2009 to fill a vacancy. McDaniel has filed for re-election to the seat.


ESU filings

Educational Service Unit (ESU) No. 15 has two local seats up for election. Allison Sandman of Wauneta has filed for the District 3 seat and Cheri Burke of Imperial has filed for re-election to her District 1 seat.

Other filers for ESU No. 15 seats include Donald Remington of Danbury for the District 5 seat, Jesse Stevens of McCook for the District 7 seat and Warren Everts of McCook for the District 9 seat.

The ESU No. 16 District 9 seat currently held by Norma Mayer is also up for re-election in 2014. Mayer has filed for re-election. As of July 11 the Secretary of State lists no other filings for the District 9 seat.

Other filers for ESU No. 16 include Julie Boettcher of North Platte for District 1, Mel McNae of North Platte for District 7 and Dayton Reichman of Venango for District 11.