Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Inmate apprehended after escape from Hitchcock County Jail Tuesday PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 10 July 2014 15:18

Jessica M. Cole


By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

 

Hitchcock County Sheriff D. Bryan Leggott issued press releases Tuesday stating Jessica M. Cole had escaped from the Hitchcock County Jail and was later apprehended.

Cole, 23, of Palisade escaped from the outdoor exercise yard at the jail between 1:45 p.m. MT/2:45 p.m. CT and 1:55 p.m. MT/2:55 p.m. CT.

In a release issued after Cole was discovered missing, the Sheriff stated it appeared Cole suffered several cuts while scaling the exercise wall and razor wire.

Cole was being detained at the Hitchcock County Jail on a failure to appear warrant for two counts of possession of a controlled substance, a Class IV felony.

At approximately 6:27 p.m. MT/7:27 p.m. CT Cole was apprehended in the basement of a residence less than one block from the Hitchcock County Jail.

Cole was then transported to the McCook Community Hospital to be treated for injuries sustained during the escape.

After treatment for her injuries Cole will be returned to the Hitchcock County Jail.

In a press release issued after her apprehension, Sheriff Leggott said incident and investigative reports will be filed with the Hitchcock County Attorney’s Office requesting Cole be charged with felony escape from official detention.