Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Veterans to be honored Monday PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 22 May 2014 00:00

Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

 

Each Memorial Day offers a chance to remember lost loved ones and to honor those who have served our country in the armed forces.

Lost local heros are in no short supply. Monday morning will be filled with services honoring countless veterans and members of the military. Details about area Memorial Day services are provided below.

 

Wauneta

The Wauneta American Legion, Wauneta VFW and auxiliary organizations have organized commemorative services at three Wauneta area cemeteries.

They will start the morning off with a military salute at Eden Cemetery, southeast of Wauneta, at 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT, followed by a second military salute at the St. Paul Lutheran Cemetery, southwest of Wauneta, at 9:30 a.m. MT/10:30 a.m. CT.

At 10:30 a.m. MT/11:30 a.m. CT they will provide a military salute and Memorial Day program at Wauneta’s Riverside Cemetery.

The Wauneta American Legion Auxiliary will host their annual Memorial Day lunch at the Wauneta American Legion Hall following the honor services at Riverside Cemetery.

 

Palisade

The Palisade American Legion, VFW and AMVETS will conduct Memorial Day services at the Palisade Cemetery beginning at 9 a.m. MT/ 10 a.m. CT.

The services will be followed by the annual chicken and noodle dinner hosted by the American Legion Auxiliary.

 

Hamlet

The Palisade groups will also provide a Memorial Day program at the Meadow Lawn Cemetery at Hamlet at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT.

Lunch will be served at the Hamlet Way Station immediately following the services. Freewill donations will go to cemetery upkeep.