Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Wauneta-Palisade OID team and Rector head to State Speech Contest PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 27 March 2014 00:00

The 2014 Wauneta-Palisade speech team has had a great season. Team members include, back from left, Nicole Strand, Hayden Pollmann, Paul Behrends, Landon Jutten, Tom McGraw, front from left, CeAnna Jahn, Leiauna Alberts, Cameo Rector and Vanessa Kerns. Not pictured: Christi Christner and Lesley Towery. Liz Noler and Teresa Hayes served as coaches. (Sheri Hink-Wagner | The Wauneta Breeze)


By Diane Stamm

The Wauneta Breeze

 

The Wauneta-Palisade speech team continued its streak of trips to the State Speech Contest with two performances placing second in last week’s district speech meet.

WP had eight entries in the district contest. Tom McGraw and Vanessa Kerns both had informative performances. McGraw’s was titled “Blue Angels” and Kerns’ was “Unwelcome Hitchhikers.” CeAnna Jahn performed a series of poetry called “Abuse.”

Christi Christner and Cameo Rector both entered in prose. Christner’s serious prose piece was titled “Pink Balloons.” Rector’s Humorous Prose presentation was titled “Smile.”

Paul Behrends and Lesley Towery each did extemporaneous speeches. The oral interpretation of drama team, Hayden Pollmann, Landon Jutten, Nicole Strand, Leiauna Alberts and Christner, performed “WHOT or The Worst Hosts of Television.” The piece was written by Pollmann and team.

Rector and the OID team each placed second and earned trips to the State Contest this week.

Behrends placed fifth and McGraw placed sixth. Jahn placed seventh.

With the top three advancing to State, Christner finished in fourth place.

The team finished in fifth place out of nine teams, with 76 points.

Coach Liz Noler said the team had some disappointments. “Everybody thought Christi would make it, and we also had some hopes for Tom. It was just the way the chips fell, though.”

OID and Cameo are SUPER pumped to move on to state! This will be the first time for Leiauna and Nicole to make state, although all of the others have been to state before in one event or another,” Noler added.

Rector and the OID team will head to Kearney this morning (Thursday) after a first period send off.

Performances for Class D will be Friday, March 28 with 18 competitors in each division. OID and Rector will both begin Friday at 8:00 a.m. MT/9:00 a.m. CT. The second round will begin at 10:00 a.m. MT/11:00 a.m. CT and the third round will be at 1:00 p.m. MT/2:00 p.m. CT. Awards will be presented at 4:00 p.m. MT/5:00 p.m. CT.