Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Chamber invites community to U.S. Route 6 Tourist Association meeting PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Wednesday, 05 March 2014 17:57

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

 

The Wauneta Chamber will host a community information meeting about the U.S. Route 6 Tourist Association next Monday, March 10 at the Wauneta Senior Center.

Marcia Kuiper, executive director of U.S. Route 6 Tourist Association, will be back in Wauneta next week to share firsthand information about the organization with the public. Kuiper was last in Wauneta on Jan. 20 when she met with the Wauneta Economic Development Committee and interested community members.

U.S. Route 6 Tourist Association is a nonprofit organization working to encourage traffic along the historic route of U.S. Highway 6. The Village of Wauneta recently purchased a two-year membership with the organization as well as six road signs that will be used to mark the historic route near Wauneta.

Chamber President Rod Keiser said the group wanted to offer community members who may be interested in joining the association or sponsoring road signs the opportunity to meet with Kuiper personally.

The evening will begin with a meet and greet with Kuiper at 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT on Monday, March 10th at the Wauneta Senior Center followed by a 6:00 p.m. MT/7:00 p.m. CT presentation on the U.S. Route 6 Tourist Association.

Anyone interested in learning more about the U.S. Route 6 Tourist Association or in joining the Wauneta Chamber are encouraged to attend.