Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Election filings continue to trickle in, final filing deadline is Monday PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Wednesday, 26 February 2014 22:29

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze


Would-be elected officials continue to file at the Chase County Clerk’s office for the 2014 election. The incumbent filing deadline has passed, but non elected officials have until Monday to file for the election.

There are five Upper Republican NRD board of director seats up for election this year. As of Friday, the only filings for these seats are the incumbents who currently hold the positions–Terry Martin of Benkelman for Subdistrict No. 2, Jason Kunkel of Lamar for Subdistrict No. 4, Dean Large of Wauneta for Subdistrict No. 6, Brett Bullock of Madrid for Subdistrict No. 10 and Jeffrey W. Wallin of Imperial for the At Large seat.


Other local races

In the past week Ray Wolgamott has entered the race for Mayor of Imperial and Robert D. Aslesen has filed for the two-year Imperial Airport Authority seat now held by Taylor May.

Incumbents with the later, July 15, deadline have also been in to file for the General Election this week. Kurt N. Schueler filed for re-election to the Lamar Village Board. Cheri Burke also filed this week. She filed for the Educational Service Unit 15, District No. 1 seat she currently holds. Alison Sandman of Wauneta also holds a position on the ESU #15, the District 3 seat. Sandman re-filed for the position previously.

The Southwest Public Power District (SWPPD) Sub District No. 1 seat currently held by Brent Evans of Haigler is up for election. The seat covers parts of Dundy, Chase and Hitchcock Counties. As of Friday, the only filer for the SWPPD seat is Mike Lutz of Benkelman.

Positions with the July 15 deadline include the Wauneta Village Board, SWPPD, Imperial Public Power District and the Lamar Village Board.


State and Federal

Mark Christensen of Imperial currently serves in the Nebraska Legislature for District 44 that serves southwest Nebraska. Christensen has served two terms and therefore cannot run again. As of Friday two have filed for the position, Dan Hughes of Venango and Dennis Berry of McCook.

There has been quite a bit of activity in the race for Nebraska’s governor. As of Friday, six have filed with the Secretary of State’s office, four on the Republican ticket, one Democrat and one Libertarian.

The four Republicans running for Nebraska governor in 2014 include Tom Carlson of Holdrege, Beau McCoy of Omaha, Jon Bruning of Lincoln and Mike Foley of Lincoln. Democrat Chuck Hasselbrook of Lyons has also joined the race as well as Mark G. Elworth Jr. of Omaha, a Libertarian.

The U.S. House of Representatives in Congress District 3 seat held by Adrian Smith of Gering is also up for election this year. So far three have filed. Adrian Smith of Gering re-filed for the position. One other Republican, Tom Brewer of Gordon has filed for the position as well as a Democrat, Mark Sullivan of Doniphan.

The U.S. Senator seat currently held by Mike Johanns (R) is up for election in 2014. Six have entered the race for U.S. Senator–Larry Marvin (D) of Fremont, Clifton R. Johnson (R) of Fort Calhoun, Shane Osborn (R) of Waterloo, Sid Dinsdale (R) of Elkhorn and Ben Sasse (R) of Fremont.