Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Incumbent filing deadline Tuesday PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 13 February 2014 00:00

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze


Most incumbents must file for election at the County Clerk’s office by Tuesday, even if they wish to file for a different office. New filers have a bit longer, until March 3, 2014.

Nearly all county seats are up for election this year, all except for the County Commissioner District 1 seat held by Chuck Vette of Wauneta.

County offices up for election include those of Assessor Dorothy Bartels, Attorney Arlan Wine, Clerk Debra Clark, Treasurer Cynthia Schoenberger, Sheriff Kevin Mueller, District No. 2 Commissioner Jodi Thompson and District No. 3 Commissioner Don Weiss, Jr.

As of Tuesday afternoon, all of the incumbents for county offices have filed for re-election except for Assessor Dorothy Bartels. Dave Hogsett of Champion, a new filer for the District No. 2 Commissioner seat, has also filed for the office. The District No. 2 Commissioner seat will be a primary race as both Hogsett and Thompson filed on the republican ticket.



There are three Upper Republican NRD seats up for election this year in Chase County. They include Subdistrict No. 4 held by Jason Kunkel of Lamar, Subdistrict No. 6 held by Dean Large of Wauneta and the member-at-large position currently held by Jeff Wallin of Imperial.

In Dundy County, Terry Martin’s Subdistrict No. 2 seat is up for election, along with two others from Perkins County, now held by Loren Jessen of Grant (Subdistrict No. 8) and Brett Bullock of Madrid (Subdistrict No. 10).

As of Monday afternoon, the only incumbents who have filed for Upper Republican NRD seats are Martin in Subdistrict 2, Kunkel in Subdistrict 4 and Large in Subdistrict 6.


Local government and public power districts

Incumbents filing for city offices in Imperial must meet the Feb. 18 deadline, whereas those filing for the Wauneta Village Board, Lamar Village Board, Imperial Public Power District and SWPPD have a later filing deadline of July 15.

In Imperial the mayor seat held by Dwight Coleman and city council seats held by Chad Yaw and John Arterburn are up for election. There are also two seats up for re-election on the Imperial Airport Authority, currently held by Jim Haarberg and Taylor May, who was appointed when Blake Moreland resigned. As of Tuesday, no incumbents have filed for these positions.

The races with the July 15 incumbent filing deadline have had one filer. Beau Kramer of Wauneta has filed for re-election to the Wauneta Village Board. There are a total of three seats on the Wauneta Village to be voted on in 2014–those currently held by Tony Cribelli, Kramer and Page Johnston.

There have been no other filings for positions with the July 15 deadline. Those up for re-election include the Imperial Public Power District, SWPPD and the Lamar Village Board.

Eric McDaniel was appointed to the Imperial Public Power District in Feb. 2009 to fill a vacancy. His seat will be up for election in 2014.

The Southwest Public Power District (SWPPD) Sub District No. 1 seat currently held by Brent Evans of Haigler is up for election. The seat covers parts of Dundy, Chase and Hitchcock Counties.

There are also three seats up for election on the Lamar Village Board, currently held by Kurt Schueller (appointed), Francis Baker and Pat Null.



Three seats on the Wauneta-Palisade Public Schools Board are up for election in 2014. All three incumbents, Bill Bischoff, Laurie Maris and Allison Sandman, have already filed for re-election. There have been no other filings for those seats.

Chase County Schools board of education members whose terms run out this year include Penny Strand, Jeff Olsen, Dirk Haarberg and Dan Reeves. As of Tuesday, Reeves is the only incumbent who has filed for Chase County Schools board of education seats. There are no other filings for that board.

Educational Service Unit (ESU) No. 15 has two seats up for election. Allison Sandman of Wauneta has filed for the District 3 seat. As of Tuesday Cheri Burke of Imperial had not filed for re-election of her District 1 seat.

The State Board of Education District No. 7 seat is also up for election in 2014. The seat is currently held by Molly O’Holleran of North Platte. As of Monday O’Holleran is the only filer for the seat.

Mid-Plains Community College’s District No. 2 seat currently held by Garry Lawyer of Grant, who has filed for re-election, is up for election this year as well.

Incumbents filing for the Chase County Schools, Wauneta-Palisade Schools, State Board of Education and Mid-Plains openings must file by the Feb. 18 deadline. However, incumbents who plan to file for the ESU openings have a later deadline of July 15 to file.

An update on filings for state and federal positions will be provided next week after the incumbent deadline has passed.