Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Chamber elects new officers PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 23 January 2014 16:09

Wauneta Chamber members elected new officers Monday evening. Kathy Kerchal, left, was re-elected as treasurer, Rod Keiser was elected president and Page Johnston, right, was re-elected vice president. Angie West, not pictured, was elected as the organization’s new secretary. (Sheri Hink-Wagner | The Wauneta Breeze)

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze


Rod Keiser, owner of Champa Group, was elected as the new president of the Wauneta Chamber at their meeting Monday night. Keiser has been an active member of the organization for some time.

He stated engagement of new and young business owners in Wauneta as one of his primary objectives in the new office.

Keiser succeeds Sheri Hink-Wagner who served as president for one year, following the resignation of long-time Chamber president Page Johnston.

When Johnston stepped down as president in 2013 he took on the role of vice president, a role he was elected to continue in 2014.

Jo Arenz resigned as secretary of the organization after holding the office for “many years.” Chamber members thanked Arenz for her long-time service to the businesspeople of Wauneta. Angie West with Wauneta Crossroads was elected to the position.

Kathy Kerchal with the United States Post Office was elected to serve as the group’s treasurer again in 2014. Kerchal has served as Chamber treasurer for 10 years or more.

New meeting day

Chamber members decided to try a new meeting date at the January meeting. Starting in February the group will meet on the first Monday of the month. They will continue to meet at 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT.

The group also set the Chamber dues amount at the meeting earlier this week. They will maintain a membership dues amount of $40 for another year. Kerchal said she would be sending an email notice of membership dues in the next month.

Those who are interested in joining the Wauneta Chamber should contact the new president, Rod Keiser.