Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Little Broncs and Tots Daycare to open doors Monday, Sept. 9 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 29 August 2013 17:20



Lindsay Anderson, left, and Dawn Doetker sit in front of some of the toys at Little Broncs and Tots Daycare, which will open its doors on Monday, Sept. 9. (Sheri Hink-Wagner | The Wauneta Breeze)


By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

 

A new daycare will soon grace the Wauneta business community. Little Broncs and Tots Daycare, a passion project of Dawn Doetker and Lindsay Anderson, will open its doors on Monday, Sept. 9.

Doetker and Anderson first started planning for the opening of their daycare in July 2012 on the deck of the Wauneta swimming pool during swimming lessons.

“Dawn ran with it and brought me along with her,” says Anderson.

The pair wanted to open a daycare with regular hours and days to help mothers so they can work or go back to school.

The new daycare will be open Monday through Friday from 7:00 a.m. MT/8:00 a.m. CT until 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT. It will have three employees initially, Anderson, Doetker and Ayla Rector will fill in part time.

The daycare will offer many activities for the young ones who grace its halls including learning basic colors, shapes and other learning activities. Doetker and Anderson say television will be available on a minimal basis.

Preparing to open the doors of Little Broncs and Tots Daycare LLC has been a long process, which at times felt hopeless to the business partners.

“Everything has taken so long, but finally it’s come together,” explained Anderson. “We’re over the moon excited to be opening our doors at last.”

Both Doetker and Anderson were quick to say the process may have never been completed if it were not for the support they received from the community.

“We wouldn’t be here without the support of the community,” said Anderson.

The pair received many donations from individuals in the community including money, toys, books and a table and chairs.

The daycare will be located on Shawnee Avenue, in the former home of Kent and Susie Doetker.

“It’s sad that Kent and Susie are gone, but I bet she’s really happy,” said Doetker, who expanded by saying she thought Kent and Susie would have been pleased with the new residents of their home.

“I guess there was a reason, God had a plan,” shared Doetker.

There were many bumps along the road to opening the daycare’s doors early next month. The process included inspections, specialized training, legal processes and obtaining a state license.

They had to make several modifications to the house to make it meet the regulations. Some of those modifications included a new self-closing screen door, a new water heater and wired fire alarms.

In addition, the state recently amended the regulations for daycares and Little Broncs and Tots Daycare was one of the first few to become licensed under the new regulations.

“We want to thank everyone for their support and prayers and for keeping us going,” said Doetker.

 

Enrollment and Community Open Houses planned

Parents interested in sending their children to the new daycare should plan to attend Parent Enrollment Open House on Saturday, Sept. 7 from 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT to noon MT/1:00 p.m. CT.

Parents will be handed a number when they walk in the door, with the parents with the smallest number getting first dibs at scheduling. The daycare is licensed to have 12 children at a time.

Parents should plan to bring completed state paperwork (available from Doetker or Anderson), their children’s shot records to the enrollment and a $100 supply fee.

Sunday, Sept. 8 Little Broncs and Tots Daycare will open its doors to the entire community from 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT until 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT as a way to thank the community for its support.

Both the enrollment and community open houses will feature refreshments.

Those with questions about the daycare should call Anderson at 308-999-0458, Doetker at 308-883-5465 or email them at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .