Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

SWPPD sponsors seven students’ trip to Youth Energy Camp PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Wednesday, 24 July 2013 17:05

Camp participants from SWPPD included Nicole Strand, Leiauna Alberts, Jolyn Hare (SWPPD counselor), Bradley VanCura, Latigo Sherman, Cassidy Rathe, and Catie Wright (not pictured Calvin Hughes). (Courtesy Photo)


Seven area youth attended Youth Energy Camp July 15-19, thanks to Southwest Public Power of Palisade.

Colyn Suda said this was the largest group that SWPPD has ever sent to Halsey.

“They all had a great time,” Suda said. “Some of the kids were a little nervous about going, but several had siblings that had attended the camp and were really looking forward to it.”

Attending were Wauneta-Palisade students Nicole Strand, Leiauna Alberts and Cassidy Rathe. From around the Southwest Public Power District were Bradley VanCura, Latigo Sherman, Calvin Hughes and Catie Wright.

Strand was selected as an Ambassador at camp.

Suda said SWPPD was proud to see Strand selected.

Strand was one of 10 finalists for the award. Sherman, from Palisade, was also a finalist.

Each finalist gave a speech on one of three topics. After a vote, the top male and female, plus the next highest vote getter, were named Nebraska’s Ambassadors for the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association’s annual Youth Tour to Washington D.C.

VanCura, from Hayes Center, was selected for the Good Egg award, as voted on by camp counselors.

Even though this was the first time Suda could remember a student from the area winning the award, he said that SWPPD always sends a great group of kids.

While at the camp students learn about the legislative process, electric power generation and the rural electric program. Students also take tours of the Kinsley Hydro Station at Lake McConaughy and Gerald Gentleman Station at Sutherland.

Students also enjoy traditional camp activities such as volleyball and canoeing.

Camp expenses and transportation are provided by each sponsoring rural electric system for high school freshmen, sophomores and juniors whose applications are chosen by their district.