Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

31st annual Palisade Pioneer Days this weekend PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 06 June 2013 16:45

By Sheri Hink-Wagner

The Wauneta Breeze

 

Palisade is the place to be this weekend, June 7, 8 and 9, when the community will be shining with activity during the 31st annual Pioneer Days celebration.

The Pioneer Days committee has created an activity-filled weekend of family-friendly fun.

 

Friday, June 7

Things start off on Friday with the Palisade Garden Club selling plants on main street all day. Friday evening things start to heat up with a free will donation spaghetti supper at the Legion Hall from 4-6 p.m. MT/5-7 p.m. CT.

Next up, there will be popcorn and SnoCones at the park, sponsored by the Palisade Park Board as well as a Kids Mystery Hunt at Krotter Park at 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT. At 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT Lawn Chair Volleyball starts at Krotter Park. Be sure to bring your own lawn chair!

 

Saturday, June 8

Saturday morning things start early with a 3K/5K Walk/Run sponsored by the Wauneta-Palisade Cheerleaders. The Walk/Run will begin at 5:30 a.m. MT/6:30 a.m. CT from Southwest Public Power District’s office.

Next, enjoy breakfast at the Fire Department at the annual Firemen’s breakfast from 6 a.m. MT/7 a.m. CT to 8 a.m. MT/9 a.m. CT. After breakfast head over to the village office for registration. The annual traveling prize has been donated this year by Bob and Alma Romine.

The parade will start at 9:30 a.m. MT/10:30 a.m. CT. This year’s theme is “Get your shine on.”

After the parade there will be a kiddie carnival, cake walk and pie your cheerleader events downtown.

At 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT the photography contest at JD Studios begins and registration for sand volleyball opens. Sand volleyball at Krotter Park will begin at 11 a.m. MT/12 noon CT.

There will be four places to grab lunch on Saturday including the Legion Post 318, Legion Auxiliary, Mihm Hall and Concessions at the park with proceeds going to the Hitchcock County Cheerleaders.

Those who want to stay inside Saturday afternoon can head over to SWPPD at 12 noon MT/1 p.m. CT to play bingo sponsored by the AMVETS.

At 1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT horseshoes start at Krotter Park (registration at 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT).

Saturday evening’s activities start off with a free photo booth from 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT to 7 p.m. MT/ 8 p.m. CT, weather permitting.

Next up is a free barbecue at the park sponsored by SWPPD from 4:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m. CT to 6:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p.m. CT. The AMVETS will also be selling pie and ice cream at the barbecue.

Saturday night’s activities finish with a DJ and dance at Krotter Park from 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT to 11 p.m. MT/12 midnight CT.

 

Sunday, June 9

Sunday morning everyone is invited to attend the worship celebration of their choice. The Pioneer Days Committee has also arranged for Church at the Park hosted by the United Methodist Church, beginning at 9:30 a.m. MT/10:30 a.m. CT. JoAnn Ward will be the lay leader of the worship celebration.

After the worship celebration, the community, churches and Pioneer Days Committee will host a pot luck at the park beginning at 11 a.m. MT/12 noon CT.

The theme for the pot luck is “Honoring Pioneers–Now and Then.” There is no formal program for the pot luck, attendees are asked to bring photos, memories and food to share. In case of bad weather the pot luck will be cancelled.

The weekend’s final activity will be “Free Sundaes on Sunday” at the ALA Auxiliary Hall. The event is being hosted by the Pioneer Days Committee, ALA and area churches as a way to say thank you to all those who volunteer in Palisade throughout the year. Everyone is welcome to attend the final event.