Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Taylor Dixon receives 2013 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team member award at Red-White Spring Game PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 18 April 2013 19:19

Taylor Dixon stands by Tom Osborne prior to walking on the field to be recognized as a winner of the Brook Berringer Citizenship award. (Courtesy photo | Lynn McBride)


Taylor Dixon was honored Saturday, April 6 at Nebraska’s Red-White Spring Game as a member of the 2013 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team.

Dixon, who graduated in December, and fellow football graduates Rex Burkhead, Ben Cotton, Kyler Reed, Steven Osborne and Seung Hoon Choi were on the field prior to the start of the game with 15 current Huskers who also received the award.

The members of the group were singled out for their dedication to volunteering through the university’s Life Skills program.

While playing at Nebraska Dixon spent time visiting schools, including McDonald Elementary in North Platte where Wauneta native Autumn Alberts teaches, to speak about the importance of education, hard work and good behavior.

He also spent time each Thanksgiving visiting patients at Lincoln hospitals and participated in Fan Day before the start of fall football camp.

Other award winners are senior quarterback Ron Kellogg III, redshirt freshman linebacker Michael Rose, senior cornerback Ciante Evans, senior wide receiver Quincy Enunwa, senior fullback C.J. Zimmerer, sophomore running back Imani Cross, senior tight end Jake Long, redshirt freshman tight end Trey Foster, redshirt freshman wide receiver Lane Hovey, junior wide receiver Tyler Evans, junior defensive tackle Jay Guy, sophomore offensive lineman Chris Long and senior offensive linemen Brandon Chapek, Spencer Long and Jeremiah Sirles.

Former Nebraska coach Tom Osborne was on hand to help Berringer’s sisters present a plaque to each honoree.

Following the presentation of the Berringer award, Dixon was one of 21 first-time letterwinners recognized. Berringer winners Kellogg, Cross and Dixon received their letters as well as cornerbacks Mohammed Seisay, Charles Jackson and Daniel Davie, wide receivers Taariq Allen and Sam Burtch, fullback Mike Marrow, defensive back Austin Williams, fullback Andy Janovich, linebacker David Santos, offensive linemen Mark Pelini, Zach Sterup and Ryne Reeves and defensive tackles Brodrick Nickens and Kevin Williams. Graduating seniors being recognized for their first letters include linebackers Micah Kreikemeier and Matt Manninger, defensive tackle Kenny Anderson, offensive lineman Nick Ash and tight end Conor McDermott.

Letters were presented by N-Club President Matt Vrzal and other former Husker lettermen were on hand for the event.

Graduating with a degree in fisheries and wildlife, Dixon is back in the area working as Park Superintendent at Swanson Reservoir near Trenton.

He will be on the McCook Community College campus Saturday, April 20, with graduating Husker football players to take part in a basketball game against a Randy Geier led celebrity team of area coaches.

Each year Husker football seniors travel the state taking on local all-star teams. McCook is one of eight stops on this year’s schedule. Sponsored by the McCook Optimist Club, the game will tip off at 6:00 p.m. MT/7:00 p.m. CT. Proceeds from the event will go to the Team Jack foundation.

Dixon, a 2008 Wauneta-Palisade High School graduate, was also recognized as a Nebraska Scholar-Athlete in the fall of 2011 and spring of 2012; he also garnered Big 12 Commissioner’s Fall Academic honors in 2008 and 2009 and Big 12 Commissioner’s Spring Academic honors in 2009. He is the son of Mindy Dixon of Wauneta and Brad Dixon of Benkelman.

He hopes for a good turnout of Wauneta-Palisade fans and encouraged people to bring their memorabilia for free autographs.