Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

WP volleyball to build around seven letterwinners PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 30 August 2012 16:31

By Diane Stamm

The Wauneta Breeze


With 15 players out for the 2012 volleyball season, nearly half of the team returns with significant playing experience.

Senior Emma Skelton will lead the team from her setter position. Skelton was named RPAC All-Conference honorable mention as a junior.

Skelton will look to juniors Brooklyn Nordhausen and two-year letterwinner Tailor Lee in the middle.

At the outside hitter position will be juniors Abbie Fanning and Cassidy Rathe and sophomores Sydnee Harchelroad and Leiauna Alberts.

Harchelroad also set last year.

The libero position is still up for grabs with sophomore letterwinner Brianna Einspahr leading the way.

After a 7-17 2011 campaign, this summer the team went to camps at North Platte and Kearney, played in the Ed Thomas YMCA league and hit the weight room.

Leadership from the six upperclassman will be a key to the season according to sixth year head coach Michelle Harchelroad.

Coach Harchelroad added consistency from her players is critical to a successful year.

Looking at the schedule Coach Harchelroad says she expects Brady to be very tough this year. The Lady Broncos will participate in the Brady Tournament Sept. 22.

Conference opponents Paxton, Dundy County-Stratton and Southwest are also expected to be very good.

Wauneta-Palisade will travel to Southwest September 11 and Paxton for its Invite Sept., 18. The Lady Broncos will host Dundy County-Stratton Oct. 4.

The Lady Broncos will face Hayes Center, Maywood, Medicine Valley and Wallace in subdistricts.

Following the JV/varisty contest versus Wallace tonight at 4:00 p.m. MT/5:00 CT, the Lady Broncos will travel to Minatare tomorrow for a varsity only contest. First serve will be at 4:00 p.m. MT/5:00 CT.



Seniors: Emma Skelton and Tayler Nordhausen.

Juniors: Abbie Fanning, Tailor Lee and Cassidy Rathe.

Sophomores: Leiauna Alberts, Sydnee Harchelroad; Christi Christner, Brianna Einspahr, Hannah Nordhausen and Nicole Strand.

Freshmen: Cameo Rector, Ellie Lee and Sephanie Acosta.