Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Primary Election set for Tuesday, May 15 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 10 May 2012 17:13

Hospital district votes,
Dist. 1 commissioner
race only local issues

By Russ Pankonin

The Imperial Republican


Voters in Nebraska will go to the Primary Election polls next Tuesday to forward

Republican and Democratic U.S. Senate and House of Representative candidates to the General Election in November.

With the presidential race of the Republican ticket already decided, along with a small number of local issues on the ballot, County Clerk Debbie Clark fears a small turnout of Chase County voters.

At the county level, voters in District 1 will select a Republican candidate for commissioner.

With no opposition on the Democratic ticket, the race will essentially be decided in the Primary, with the General Election a formality.

County voters will decide two separate issues dealing with the Chase County Hospital District.

In the first of two, voters will be asked whether or not they want to dissolve the Chase County Hospital District they created in the May 2010 Primary.

A vote FOR will be to dissolve the district while a vote AGAINST will be to keep the district intact.

The second question on the hospital district will be the first-ever election of board members to the district.

Candidates running for the two open seats include incumbent William (Bill) Bauerle along with Merrilyn Leibbrandt and Sue Kinner.

If the district remains intact, the two elected board members will serve on the board. Even if the district is dissolved, the elected board members will serve until the board officially dissolves the district.

Voters in the Venango Fire District will decide whether to override the levy limit with a levy up to 10.5 cents per $100 of valuation.


State races

At the state level, Republicans and Democrats will elect candidates to advance to the General Election for U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

The Senate race is wide open with the retirement of Sen. Ben Nelson (D).

On the Republican ticket, candidates include Don Stenberg, a former Nebraska attorney general, Jon Bruning, the acting attorney general, Deb Fischer, a rancher and state legislator from Valentine, Pat Flynn, a businessman from Schyler, Spencer Zimmerman and Sharyn Elander.

On the Democratic ticket, several candidates stepped down from the race as former U.S. Senator Bob Kerrey filed for the seat.

Other names that will appear on the ballot include Chuck Hassebrook, Sherman Yates, Steven Lustgarten and Larry Marvin.

In the Third District House race, Republican incumbent Adrian Smith and Democratic challenger Mark Sullivan are the only names on their respective parties’ ballots.

In the Republican presidential race, Mitt Romney will be the nominee since his challengers have dropped out of the race.


Voting from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Voting will begin next Tuesday at 7 a.m. and run through 7 p.m. MDT at five polling places throughout the county.

Those five precinct locations include the Champion Community Center, Champion/Lamar precinct; Lied Imperial Public Library, Imperial West precinct; Imperial Community Center, Imperial East precinct; Imperial United Methodist Church, Imperial Rural precinct; and Wauneta Senior Center, Wauneta precinct.

Early voting can also be completed through 4 p.m. Monday at the courthouse.