Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

WP jayvee volleyballers sweep Cheylin PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 08 September 2011 18:38

 

Tailor Lee, No. 8, drills a kill against Cheylin as team mates, from left, Cassidy Rathe, Emma Skelton, Sydnee Harchelroad and Abbie Fanning stand ready to pick up a block in jayvee, season opening, volleyball action. The Broncs swept the Cougars in straight sets.

 

By Carl Williams

The Wauneta Breeze

 

The JV Lady Broncos defeated the Cheylin, Kan., Cougars in their season opener in three straight sets. This year could be labeled as a rebuilding year with four returning vets, Emma Skelton, Tailor Lee, Abbie Fanning and Brooklyn Nordhausen and a group of young, hard working freshmen starters.

The match started with Skelton serving and Lee, Cassidy Rathe and Brianna Einspahr swinging and hammering kills. The young talented netters showed hustle and determination.

Emma Skelton led the team with six assists at the setting position and with eight ace serves.

Brianna Einspahr led the team with four kills, followed by Cassidy Rathe and Leiauna Alberts with three kills each.

Abbie Fanning and Brianna Einspahr did a nice job at serve receive.

“Overall I thought the girls came out and played a solid first game,” said Bronco Coach Michelle Harchelroad. “We did some good things, but we have a lot of room to improve and I know they will improve and playing games and practicing each day will improve their game.”

Harchelroad’s jayvee team will need to be ready for St. Francis after last year’s loss. Jayvee action gets underway today (Thursday) in Wauneta at 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT.

Saturday, Sept. 10, the jayvees travel to Culbertson for an early morning tournament. Game time is 7 a.m. MT/8 a.m. CT.

Last Updated on Thursday, 08 September 2011 18:40