Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Local News Briefs PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 02 June 2011 18:29

Wauneta Swimming Pool opens this week

Hey kids, the pool’s open!

The Wauneta Municipal Swimming Pool opened for the season this week, with Tuesday, May 31, the first day the pool was open.

Regular pool hours will be Monday through Saturday from 1 to 5 p.m. MT and on Sunday from 1 to 4 p.m. MT.

The pool will be open mornings Monday through Friday from 7:30 to 8:30 a.m. MT for lap swimming and in the afternoons Monday through Friday from 5 to 6 p.m. for water aerobics. Night swimming will be offered each week on Wednesday nights from 7 to 9 p.m. MT.

Admission rates are the same this year as last, with the daily rate for adults and children $3. There is no charge to use the baby pool.

Rates for season passes are $50 per person or $100 for a family of four — each additional family member will cost $10. A season pass for lap swimming/water aerobics only is $35 per person.

Keri Sutherland is serving as pool manager once again. For more information or to contact the pool call 394-5171.

 

Wauneta’s Town-Wide Garage Sales June 4

Wauneta’s town-wide garage sales are coming up this Saturday, June 4. Maps to the array of sale sites will be available Saturday at Wauneta Crossroads.

 

Historical Society joining MCC bus tour

This year the Chase County Historical Society is teaming up with McCook Community College and the Buffalo Commons Storytelling Festival for their Annual Tour.

This year’s tour will be held in conjunction with MCC’s Wild West Bus Tour coming up Friday, June 10.

Those from the Chase County area interested in joining the tour will meet at Wauneta Park Shelter at 9:30 a.m. on June 10. From there they will drive to the Kenny Ham farmstead located east of Wauneta at mile marker 48 where they will see where the Texas Trail crossed toward Ogallala.

From there the group will drive to the John Maddux home 6 miles north of Imperial along Highway 61 where they will visit the historic rock corral, hear stories of the Texas Trail and enjoy live entertainment. Lunch will be provided at $8 per person.

Those wishing to join the group can make arrangements to do so by contacting Carol Maddux at 394-5348 or Byron Hust at 882-4601 by June 5.

 

Palisade Pioneer Days kick off next week

Wild, loud and proud are the key words for this year’s Palisade Pioneer Days coming up next week, June 10 - 12.

This year’s theme is: “WILD about our community, LOUD about our future, PROUD of our past!”

Events will kick off Friday evening, June 10, at the Palisade Attendance Center. Tours of the school will begin at 4 p.m. MT/5 p.m. CT, followed by the Alumni and Friends Banquet at 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT. Entertainment this year will be provided by inspirational comedian Craig Larson.

The line-up of morning events for Saturday, June 11, includes community breakfast the Palisade Fire Hall; craft fair at the Smith Building; Photography contest display at JD Studios; Main Street parade beginning at 9:30 a.m. MT/10:30 a.m. CT, followed by a kiddie carnival, dime toss, cake walk, ice cream at the Auxiliary Hall and lunch at the Legion Hall.

Saturday afternoon offerings on June 11 include sand volleyball, horse shoe contest, bounce house and free swimming all at Krotter Park. Bingo will be offered at the SWPPD Community Room.

That evening Krotter Park will be the site for kids games, free barbecue, a pie and ice cream social and dance featuring the band “Country Rebels and Crazy Horses.”

On Sunday, June 12, a community potluck dinner will be held at Krotter Park beginning at 11 a.m. MT/noon CT followed by a community gospel songfest later that afternoon at the Church of Christ. A full list of events and times will be included in next week’s Breeze.