Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Reflections, memories shared at Alumni Banquet PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 02 June 2011 18:12

By Josh Sumner

The Wauneta Breeze


Sixty-six Wauneta and Wauneta-Palisade graduates joined to reflect on their times as high school friends during this year’s Wauneta/Wauneta-Palisade Alumni Banquet, with the honored class being those that ended in “1.”

The Class of 1996 was this year’s host class, with Courtney Arenz Criffield and Shanna Bardsley Schulte serving as the masters of ceremony. Following a performance of the Star Spangeld Banner by Dawn Doetker and Sara Behrends was the invocation by Criffield.

A slide show featuring pictures of each individual high school class, in chronological order was one of the highlights of the evening. The slide show was designed by Criffield and Roz Mintling Sheldon.

One member of the Class of 1931 was in attendance to celebrate her 80th reunion — Eunice Bodeman, who currently resides in Wauneta.

The Class of 2001 marked its first return to the Alumni Banquet, celebrating its 10th reunion.

Although the Class of 2011 was not in attendance, they did make a statement, read aloud to the audience by Sheldon.

Individual class presenters were as followed: Class of 1941, Wesley Wheeler; Class of 1951, Patricia Kitt; Class of 1961, Kathy Shriver; Class of 1971, Page Johnston; Class of 1981, Stuart Hoff; Class of 1991, Kelly Brunkhorst; Class of 2001, Krystle Friesen.


Class of 1931 — Eunice Fanning Polly Bodeman, Wauneta. (Wauneta Breeze Photos | Josh Sumner)


Class of 1941 — From left: William S. Stock, McCook; Donald M. Hatch, Wichita, Kan.;  Wesley Wheeler, Wauneta.


Class of 1951 — Front row from left: John Olmsted, Gothenburg, Neb.; Norma Terry Einspahr, Arvada, Colo.; Patricia Newman Kitt, Wauneta; Eldon Knepper, Holdrege, Neb. Second row from left: Dale Einspahr, Arvada, Colo.; Lucille Haarberg Wegner, Tracy, Calif.; Doris Potthoff Wood, Lincoln, Neb. Back row: Gene Olmsted, Powell, Wyo.; Dale Bischoff, Wauneta; Clint McCallum, Wauneta.


Class of 1961 — Front row from left: Elaine Anderson Roschewski, Palisade; Carol Daniel Showell, Cody, Wyo.; Mary Fortkamp Estes, Quincy, Calif.; Colleen McBride Garton, Windsor, Colo. Second row from left: Betty Muths McCallum, Wauneta; Sharon Hewitt Buffington, Wauneta; Kathy Heldenbrand Jorgenson, Omaha, Neb.; Kathy Einspahr Shriver, Morrison, Colo. Back row from left: Craig Gibbons, Lexington, Neb.; Kent Buffington, Wauneta; Kenneth Lewis, Cambridge, Neb.; Jack Hunt, Wauneta.


Class of 1971 — Front row from left: Barbara Sinner Swaney, Spokane, Wash.; Donna Sinner Jarvis, Broomfield, Colo.; Jannette Kennedy Lantis, Hershey, Neb.; Lorna Taylor, Tucson, Ariz.; Page Johnston, Wauneta. Second row from left: Peggy Cowles Warner, North Platte; Debbie Harchelroad Kemp, St. Louis, Mo.; Lee DeHart Clapp, McCook; Beverly Einspahr Howard, Portales, N.M.; Mike Howard, Portales, N.M. Back row from left: Kurt Applegarth, Palisade; Judy Anderson Morris, Imperial; Stuart Bartels, Wauneta; Arnie Lytle, Gilbert, Ariz.


Class of 1981 — Front row from left: Brent Huser, Windsor, Colo; Stuart Hoff, Lincoln, Neb. Second row from left: Hugh Anderson, Benkelman; Sid Haarberg, Kearney, Neb.; Kurt Collins, Lincoln, Neb. Back row from left: Brenda Winscot Anderson, Wauneta; Rochelle Greeley Wieman, Lincoln, Neb.; Rae Houser, Hastings, Neb.; Darlene Cooper Gjovik, Minatare, Neb.; Kim Rollins Rawson, Oxford, Neb.; Elizabeth Rasmondo Henning, Crete, Neb.


Class of 1991 — Front row from left: Kirk Yost, Bellevue, Neb.; Kelly Brunkhorst, Lincoln, Neb. Second row from left: Bobbi Wilson Kistner, Olathe, Kan.; Karla McCallum Herley, O’Neill, Neb.; Cindy Cameron Sponheim, Richey, Mont.; DeAnn Howard Davis, Palisade. Back row from left: Taya Gockley Northrup, Stoneham, Colo.; José Biewinga, Norwich, U.K.; Michelle Schutte Duncan, Ravenna, Neb.; Roxey Wheeler Martin, Lincoln, Neb.


Class of 2001 — Front row from left: Jeff Steckman, York, Neb.; Chris Manker, Lenexa, Kan.; Clay Majors, Enders. Back row from left: Krystle Christner Friesen, Wallace, Neb.; Ashli Grimes Cox, Hayes Center.