Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Sports Lineup PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 19 May 2011 16:50

State track meet set for this weekend in Omaha

A trio of Bronco track and field athletes head to Omaha tomorrow (Friday) for a chance to win a state medal. Here is a closer look at the start times for each WP qualifier and event:

 

Abbie Fanning will be a member

of the third heat in the preliminary round of the 400 meter dash, set to start at 4:45 p.m. MT/5:45 p.m. CT tomorrow (Friday). If she qualifies for finals in the 400 meter dash, she will compete at 11:55 a.m. MT/12:55 p.m. CT on Saturday. Fanning also qualified for state in the 800 meter run, which begins at 8:30 a.m. MT/9:30 a.m. CT on Saturday, and has no preliminary round. Fanning is in the first heat of that race.

 

Shelby Hamilton competes in

the shot put at 2:00 p.m. MT/3:00 p.m. CT on Saturday, as a member of the second flight. She also throws discus at 4:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m. CT on Saturday, and is again a member of the second flight.

 

Jonee Maris will compete in the high jump

at noon MT/1:00 p.m. CT on Saturday, as a member of the first flight of competition.

 

WP Elementary Field Day yet to be rescheduled

The annual Elementary Field Day was set for last Thursday, however was canceled due to inclement weather. No make-up date has been announced.

 

Drew Harris and Chris Bartels

Will each compete in this year’s installment of the Mid-Plains All Star Basketball Game. Tip-off is set for 6:45 p.m. MT/7:45 p.m. CT on Friday, June 3 at North Platte Community College, in the McDonald-Belton Gymnasium.

 

Free fishing and park entry this Saturday at Enders

Free Fishing and Park Entry Day, Saturday, May 21, is an opportunity for everyone to enjoy fishing at a state park area in Nebraska without being required to have a permit. Although no fishing or park entry permits will be required on the free day, which is celebrated annually on the Saturday before Memorial Day weekend, all other fee requirements, laws and regulations will be in effect. Anglers at Two Rivers State Recreation Area (SRA) trout lake will be required to purchase a daily trout tag.