Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Local News Briefs PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 12 May 2011 20:44

School musical on tap Friday, Saturday, Sunday

A busy weekend of performances is in store for cast and crew members of this year’s Wauneta-Palisade School musical, with performances planned Friday, Saturday and Sunday in Wauneta, May 13, 14 and 15.

The opening performance of “Into the Woods, Jr.” will take to the stage at 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT Friday night.

Saturday’s performance will also begin at 7 p.m. MT/8 p.m. CT with Sunday’s performance planned for 2 p.m. MT/3 p.m. CT.

Cost of admission is $3 for adults and $1 for students.

The musical is directed by WP instructors Aaron and Sara Behrends.

Deadline for Alumni Banquet is May 20

The Alumni Banquet for former students at Wauneta High School and Wauneta-Palisade is coming up Saturday, May 28, and the deadline to purchase banquet tickets is fast approaching.

Tickets are available for $15 at Walgren’s Super Market in Wauneta. You can stop by the store to make your purchase or reserve them by phone by calling 308-394-5203.

The Alumni Banquet will be held at the school gym in Wauneta beginning at 6:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p.m. CT. This year’s meal will be catered by Myra Large.

The Class of 1996 will host the banquet, with honored classes including 2001, 1991, 1981, 1971, 1961, 1951, 1941 and 1931.

 

Cascade of end-of-year events keeps WP busy

Students and staff at Wauneta-Palisade Schools are following a hectic pace as are their families as the race to keep up with the avalanche of end-of-the-school-year events.

To help keep community members informed of these upcoming school events the Breeze will post an events listing over the next few weeks.

If there are events that need to be added, or if times or dates have changed, please pass along that information to the newspaper via email at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

• School musical production of “Into the Woods, Jr.” Friday, Saturday and Sunday, May 13, 14 and 15.

• Honors Night and Eighth Grade Promotion, Monday, May 16, at the school gym in Wauneta beginning at 6:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p.m. CT. Please note, the eighth grade class photo will be taken at 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT.

• State Track Meet, Friday and Saturday, May 20-21, in Omaha.

• Athletic Banquet, Monday, May 23, at 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT at the gym in Wauneta.

• Last day of school, Thursday, May 26. An early release is planned.

• WP Graduation,

Saturday, May 28, at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. at the gym in Wauneta.

• WP Alumni Banquet, Saturday, May 28, at 6:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p.m. CT at the gym in Wauneta.

 

Grave decorations must be moved for clean-up

The Village of Wauneta crew will be mowing and trimming at Wauneta’s Riverside Cemetery in the coming weeks in preparation for Memorial Day.

Everyone is asked to remove flowers and decorations presently in place around headstones or on the ground prior to May 23 when crews expect to begin mowing and trimming.

The Village will dispose of old flowers and decorations not picked up by May 23. The Village will not be held responsible for decorations during ground maintenance.

Flowers in holders on headstones will not be disturbed,

For more information you can contact the Village of Wauneta Office at 394-5390.

 

Wauneta’s town-wide garage sales June 4

Organizers and garage salers alike are gearing up for Wauneta’s annual town-wide garage sales.

This year’s event is being planned for Saturday, June 4.

For more information or to get your sale included on the map contact Julie Hoskovec at 308-883-6520.