Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Sports Lineup PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Friday, 29 April 2011 16:25

Sutherland track meet canceled, after all

After being moved from its original date of Saturday, April 16 to Tuesday, April 26, athletic directors have decided not to reschedule the Sutherland Invite. This is the second meet this season to drop off the Broncos’ schedule due to inclement weather. The Cambridge Invite, which was set for Saturday, March 26, was also canceled.

 

 

Riener selected for Sertoma All-Star Volleyball Classic

WP’s Bethany Riener is among those selected for this year’s 20th annual Sertoma All-Star Game. She is joined by Michelle Harchelroad, who will coach the west team alongside Jennifer Baker, of Trenton. The game is at 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT on Saturday, June 18 at McCook High School.

 

High school track meet Friday, April 29

The Wau-Pal Bronco track team heads east to Arapahoe for this year’s RPAC meet. Competition begins at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT.

 

High school track meet Friday, May 6

It’s back to Benkelman for the Bronco track team, when they take part in the Dundy County-Stratton Twilight meet. Start time is set for 12:30 p.m. MT/1:30 p.m. CT.

 

Junior high track meet Monday, May 9

The WP junior high Broncs also return to Benkelman to wrap up their season as part of this year’s RPAC meet. Start time for the meet is 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT.

 

Nebraska residents encouraged to participate

in the upcoming Cornhusker State Games Torch Run. The torch run starts June 1 at the Wyoming border west of Scottsbluff and makes its final stop in Lincoln on June 27. Applicants for the run will be assigned in one-mile increments, and will be scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information and entry forms, visit www.CornhuskerState Games.com, or call (402) 471-2544.