Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Contest winners brimming with patriotism PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 10 February 2011 19:56

The Ladies Auxiliary to VFW Post 7028 honored the Voice of Democracy and Patriots Pen winners and also the Patriotic Art, Americanism essay and coloring contest winners at a carry-in supper held at the Smith Building in Palisade Jan. 23.

Members, families, friends and several of the winners attended.

The Americanism coloring contest included the first, second and third graders with a total of 51 local entries.

First grade winners were: Allen Ramirez, first; Cody Holmes, second and Anastacia Layman, third.

Winners recognized at the annual Voice of Democracy supper were from left: Leiauna Alberts, Chris Bar-tels, Allen Ramirez, Bethany Riener, Natalie Ramirez, Jenae Bischoff, Haylee Sandman and Weylin Davis. (Courtesy Photos)


Second grade winners were: Haylee Sandman, first; Alicia Holmberg, second; Zoey Boos, third.

Third grade winners were: Cord Lee, first; Ben Anderjaska, second; Tucker Boos, third.

Cord Lee was chosen over-all winner and his picture will be sent to Department. All the students participating received a pencil and a bracelet. The winners received an additional flag, $2 bill and a certificate.

There were 10 entries in the essay contest for fourth, fifth and sixth graders.

First graders participating in the coloring contest were front from left: Olivia Behrends, Allen Ramirez, Ana Layman, Cody Holmes, William Schwartz. Back row from left: Colby Hoskovec, Dexter Smith, Deakon Smith, Wyatt Haas, Joshua Hicks, Trace Bley, Katie Wilson, Alexa Sandman, Zachary Kahm.


Using the theme “America,” students were to write a 250-300 word essay with 20 preselected words.

First place winner was Natalie Ramirez who received a flag and $15 as well as her entry being sent on to Department for judging. Second place winner was Destany Beacham who received a flag and $10. Reagan Skow was third and received a flag and $5.

All students received a pencil and bracelet.

The Voice of Democracy winners included Jenae Bischoff, first place; Bethany Riener, second and Chris Bartels, third.

Patriotic Pen winners were Leiauna Alberts, first place; Cody Barrett, second and Sydnee Harchelroad, third.

Coloring contest participants in the second grade include front from left: Haylee Sandman, Alicia Holmberg, Zoey Boos; middle row from left: Jeray Four Cloud, Romeo Dirk, Devin Carl, Anthony Sramek, Cory Barrett, back row from left: Larry Schwartz, Haylee Davis, Destany Simpson, Isaiah Littrel, Maycee Wheeler, Jacey Fritzlan.