Weather Forecast

Click for Wauneta, Nebraska Forecast

Sports Lineup PDF Print E-mail
Written by Wauneta Breeze   
Thursday, 18 November 2010 19:14

Bronco basketball season is just a few weeks away

The basketball season starts with a set of girls and boys exhibitions at the NSAA Jamboree in Ogallala. Money raised at the event will help support the NSAA Hall of Fame. Tip-off is set for 5:30 p.m. MT/6:30 p.m. CT on Saturday, Nov. 27. The regular season begins with the boys and girls home opener against Brady on Friday, Dec. 3. Junior varsity action starts at 3 p.m. MT/4 p.m. CT.

 

Only a short two weeks from today

the Wau-Pal/Hitchcock County wrestling squad will host their home meet in Palisade on Thursday, Dec. 2.

 

This week’s Nebraska Cornhusker football matchup at No. 19 Texas A&M will be

nationally televised on your local ABC station. Saturday’s primetime affair kicks off at 6 p.m. MT/7 p.m. CT. The Huskers play their final Big 12 homegame against long-time conference foe Colorado on Friday, Nov. 26 at 1:30 p.m. MT/2:30 p.m. CT. The final conference game against Colorado can also be viewed on ABC.

 

The No. 5 Nebraska volleyball team (24-2, 16-1 Big 12) made quick work

of the Kansas State Wildcats (10-17, 4-12) and the Colorado Buffaloes (6-17, 3-14) last week, defeating both teams easily in straight sets. A home game against Oklahoma (19-8, 11-5) was scheduled for Wednesday, Nov. 17, followed by a home contest against Baylor (14-13, 7-9) a week later on Wednesday, Nov. 24. Turn the channel to the Huskers Sports Network to catch all upcoming games.

 

Husker mens and womens basketball

teams started off the season 2-0 and 1-0, respectively, to begin the new season. The Husker Mens team travels to play in the Puerto Rico Tip-Off today against Vanderbilt. Find the game on the ESPN family of networks.

 

Out-of-state guests can celebrate the holidays with

a two-day hunt while visiting the state. Nebraska’s two-day permit for nonresidents makes that easier. Nonresidents have until the end of December to purchase a 2010 two-day Nebraska hunting permit. The permit is valid for two consecutive days any time between Nov. 24 and Dec. 31.